Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Denney Memorial

Emmaus Primitive Baptist Church, Carrollton, Georgia

Saturday, November 3, 2018

The Denney Memorial was held on Saturday before the first Sunday in November. The class was called to order by Tony Hammock and Philip Denney leading 31t. John Huffman offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Tony Hammock 60; Philip Denney 61; David Smead 473; Lisa Bennett 515; Jack Nelson 524; Winfred Kerr 569b; Kathy Williams 472; Rebecca Over 196 (for Winfred Kerr); Daniel Williams 543; Karen Rollins and Randa Harris 345t; Glenda Collins 300 (for Judy Chambless); Matt Hinton 498; Faye Hollis 318; Daniel Lee 489; Henry Johnson 418; Andy Ditzler 483.


Keillor Mose brought the class back to order leading 111t. John Plunkett led 50t.

The class entered into a business session and elected the following officers: Chairman—Tony Hammock; Vice Chairman—Philip Denney; Arranging Officer/Secretary—Judy Chambless.

Karen Rollins presented a plaque to the family of Louise Holland on behalf of the Sacred Harp Publishing Company. Kathy Williams, Warren Holland, Ginnie Prater, Donna Baldwin, and Lou Anne Williams received the plaque in memory of Louise Holland’s untiring support of and dedicated service to the cause of Sacred Harp singing.

Karen Rollins conducted the memorial lesson. Karen spoke about our love for fellow singers despite the differences between us, and exhorted us to extend this to love for our neighbors, as God commanded. She read the following names of the sick and shut-ins: Don Bowen, Adrian Eldridge, Charlene Wallace, Ann Jett, Eugene Forbes, Velton Chafin, Ottis Sides, William Futral, Virginia Futral, Norma Mincey, Judy Mincey, Joan Huff Bell McWhorter, and Oscar Block. She then read the following list of names of the deceased: Louise Holland, Lynn Denney, Wawena Entrekin Miles, Elder Frank Andrews, Florice Akin, Audrey Ruth Garner, Allen Lambert, and Agnes Roberts—Georgia; Daphene Causey, Glenda Hopper, and Floy Wilder—Alabama; Andy Worthington—Arkansas; Darrell Swarens—Indiana; Elizabeth Rechenberg—Ohio; Steve Helwig—Oregon; Susan Carr—United Kingdom. Karen Rollins led 56t, and closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Michael Walker 475; Judy Caudle 540; Jerrod Ball 335; Oscar McGuire 344; Kacey Cook, Duke Cook, and Philip Denney 147t; Jerusha Wheeler 147b; Nathan Rees 398; Anna Hinton and Lottie Hinton 383; Erin Fulton 506; Justin Bowen 384; Sarah Trumbore 422; Jesse P. Karlsberg 421 (for Deane Root and Doris Dyen); Shelby Castillo 411; Loyd Ivey 278b; David Brodeur 449; Shane Wootten 171 (for Charlene Wallace); Hayden Arp 434 (in memory of Louise Holland); Susan Cherones 349. John Huffman offered the blessing for lunch.


Rebecca Over brought the class back together leading 106. Leaders: Tom George 405; John Huffman and Katie Huffman 49b; Lauren Bock 511; Keillor Mose 482 (for Graham Cobleigh); Elene Stovall 142; Alex Forsyth 272; Donna Duke and Gene Duke 314; Cheyenne Ivey 172; Bert Collins 340; Tim Gregg 87; Wyatt Denney 77t; Joyce Heath 33b; Michael Walker 212; Loyd Ivey 460; John Huffman and Katie Huffman 556; Shane Wootten 105; Henry Johnson 409; Tim Gregg 90; Keillor Mose 200; Tom George and Sarah Trumbore 88t; Hayden Arp, Justin Bowen, Alex Forsyth, and Loyd Ivey 424; Daniel Lee and Susan Cherones 67; Rebecca Over 375; Elene Stovall and Jesse P. Karlsberg 371 (in memory of Elene’s Uncle Robert); Cheyenne Ivey 222; Judy Caudle 348b; Erin Fulton 516.

Announcements were made. Tony Hammock and Philip Denney led 62 as the closing song. John Huffman dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Tony Hammock; Vice Chairman—Philip Denney; Arranging Officer pro tem—Lisa Bennett; Secretary pro tem—David Smead