Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Denney Memorial

Emmaus Primitive Baptist Church, Carrollton, Georgia

Saturday, November 4, 2017

The Denney Memorial was held on Saturday before the first Sunday in November. The class was called to order by Tony Hammock and Philip Denney leading 73b. Steven Riddle offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Tony Hammock 60; Judy Chambless 527; Winfred Kerr 36b; Karen Rollins and Denney Rogers 153; Robert Chambless 569t; Wyatt Denney 500; Henry Johnson 489; Daniel Williams 38b; Gary Davis 282; Susan Cherones 349; Andy Ditzler 296; Reba Windom 270; Oscar McGuire 276; Joyce Walton 428; Curtis Spivey 45t; Helen Bryson 172; Nate Green and Norma Green 81t; Michael Thompson 47t (in memory of Eloise Wootten).


Tony Hammock brought the class back to order leading 166. Leaders: Nancy Novotny 302; Hayden Arp 322; Virginia Dyer 511; Brenda Dunlap 82b; John Huffman 492; Rodney Ivey and Amy Wootten 348b.

During the business meeting the following officers were elected: Chairman—Tony Hammock; Vice Chairman—Philip Denney; Arranging Officer/Secretary—Judy Chambless.

Leaders: Denney family and Rogers family 340; Rebecca Over 460; Michael Walker 216; Lottie Hinton and Eli Hinton 32t; Mary Huffman 391; Lauren Bock 392; Eli Hinton 159; Sarah Trumbore 204; Jack Nelson 131t (for Sara Nelson); Faye Hollis 283; Pam Nunn 454.


Tony Hammock brought the class back to order leading 426t. Leaders: Jim Neal 389; Jesse Karlsberg 486; David Smead 263 (in memory of Hugh McGraw); Isaac Green 541; Shannon Primm 101t (in memory of Evelyn Harris and B.M. Smith); David Brodeur 286; Fallon Cook 215; Ed Thacker 275b (in memory of Earlis McGraw); Daniel Lee 411; Tom George 298; Cheyenne Ivey and Rodney Ivey 222; Nathan Rees 99; Samuel Williams 551; Michael Spencer 393; Bert Collins and Glenda Collins 35; Matt Hinton 138t (in memory of Juanita Neal); John Plunkett 232; Jason Stanford 63 (in honor of Charlene Wallace); Lisa Bennett 195; Philip Denney and Eris Muse 340 (for Ms. Boyd); Stephen Huffman 365; Greta Edwards 77t; Daniel Edwards 39t; Rebecca Over 505 (in memory of Earlis McGraw); Nancy Novotny 440; Brenda Dunlap 65; Sarah Trumbore and Tom George 383; Michael Walker 67; John Huffman, Mary Huffman, and Stephen Huffman 528.

After announcements, Tony Hammock and Philip Denney led 45b as the closing song. John Huffman offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Tony Hammock; Vice Chairman—Philip Denney; Secretary—Judy Chambless