Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Pine Grove Singing

Pine Grove Church, Collinsville, Alabama

Sunday, April 16, 2017

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Pine Grove Church, near Collinsville, Alabama, was held on the third Sunday in April. The class was called to order by Wayne Reed and Scot Oliver leading 59. Wayne welcomed the class. Donnie Reed offered the opening prayer. Wayne and Scot led 146 (in memory of S.T. Reed, Bud Oliver, Milton Oliver, and others who helped establish the singing at Pine Grove).

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Co-Chairmen—Wayne Reed and Scot Oliver; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Officer—Cindy Tanner.

Leaders: Judy Caudle 415; Donnie Reed and Eric Blanks 235; Cindy Tanner 182; Boyd Scott 358; Charles Smelley 277; Lisa Bennett 532 (in memory of Janelle Davis); Buell Cobb 308; Joyce Whittington 76b; Mark Carroll 99; Daniel Lee 48t; Adrian Eldridge 312t; Jamey Wootten and Jared Wootten 318; Jerusha Wheeler 200.


The class was called back together by Scot Oliver leading 82t. Leaders: Ryan Bowman 86; Henry Johnson 289; Hayden Wootten 42; David Brodeur 280; David Smead 353; Jesse P. Karlsberg 125; Anna Wootten 176t; Darrell Swarens 36b; Nate Green 570; Paula Oliver 142; Isaac Green 170; Ben Fink 315; Nathan Rees 349; Alanna Blanks, Arleigh Beard, Cayden Blanks, and Emma Blanks 405.


Rodney Ivey and Scot Oliver led 343 to bring the class together. Leaders: Richard Ivey 224; Shelby Castillo 500; Ann Jett 77t; Andy Ditzler 447; Lauren Bock 126; Jackie Tanner 314; Hayden Arp 123t; Shane Wootten 543; Lydia Lewallen 359; Danny Creel 498; Gail Doss 35; David Ivey 451; Susan Cherones 460; Marty Wootten 313t; Nicole Bowman 203; Jared Wootten 440.


The afternoon session began with Scot Oliver and Eric Blanks leading 480. Leaders: Rodney Ivey 472; Reba Windom 236; Mary Ruth Stiefel 322; Cheyenne Ivey 309; Jerry Creason and Rodney Ivey 421; Verlon Stiefel and Joyce Whittington 348b; Scott Ivey 56t (in memory of Barrett Ashley); Tom George 228; Tanya Edmundson and Tom George 454; Brianna Stiefel, Scott Ivey, and Isaac Green 542; Lilly Underwood 496; Loyd Ivey 426b, 426t; Andy Ditzler and David Brodeur 216; Darrell Swarens, Adrian Eldridge, and Cindy Tanner 198; Lisa Bennett and David Smead 522; Jesse P. Karlsberg, Lauren Bock, and Lucey Rose Karlsberg 181; Susan Cherones and Gail Doss 300; Ben Fink 299; Jerusha Wheeler 283; Nathan Rees 317; Lydia Lewallen 70t; Jerry Creason and Ann Sibole 47t; Shane Wootten and Buell Cobb 131b (for Eloise Wootten).

Announcements were made. Scot Oliver and Rodney Ivey led 45b as the closing song. Shane Wootten offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Co-Chairmen—Wayne Reed and Scot Oliver; Secretary—Judy Caudle