Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Burnham and Brown Memorial Singing

Wesley Foundation Student Center, Jacksonville, Alabama

Sunday, February 7, 2016

The annual Sacred Harp singing in memory of Uncle Bob Burnham, Leman Brown, and Ruth Brown was held on the first Sunday in February. The class was called to order by Pearl Guier leading 59. The opening prayer was offered by Henry Johnson.

Leaders: Judy Caudle 76t; Pam Nunn 186; B.M. Smith 101t; Eddie Mash 101b; Winfred Kerr 314; Denney Rogers 143 (in memory of Vivian Rogers); Cheyenne Ivey 389; Cecil Roberts 48t; Scott Ivey 64; Henry Johnson 271b; Paula Oliver and Meredith 142; Loyd Ivey 204; Judy Chambless 340 (for Janelle Davis); Buell Cobb 230; Hayden Arp 336; Kenneith Calvert 350; Rodney Ivey 280; Kathy Williams 203.


Pearl Guier led 49t to bring the class together. A business session was held and the following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Pearl Guier; Vice Chairman—Tom George; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Officer—Pam Nunn.

Leaders: Tom George 214; Jesse P. Karlsberg 202; Jamey Wootten 276; Robert Chambless 163b; Elene Stovall 298; Scot Oliver 176b; Samuel Sommers 279 (in memory of Azilee Adams); Paige Harrod 100; Karen Ivey 411; David Brodeur 334; Terry Wootten 441; Dennis George 349; Sharon DuPriest 318; Andy Ditzler 39b; Jeannette DePoy and Elene Stovall 430; Nicholas Thompson 528; David Ivey 412; Reba Windom 403 (in memory of Milton Oliver).


The class was brought back to order by Tom George leading 76b. Leaders: Jared Wootten 228; John Plunkett 104; Jerry Creason 225t; Isaac Green 282; Drew McGuire 29b; Judy Mincey 466; Oscar McGuire 556; Shelby Castillo and Reba Windom 500; Myron House and Jan House 479. Cecil Roberts asked a blessing on the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Tom George leading 30t. Leaders: Samuel Sommers and Eddie Mash 96; Judy Caudle and Angela Myers 405; Rodney Ivey and Terry Wootten 317; Oscar McGuire and Drew McGuire 515; Nicholas Thompson and Reba Windom 216 (for Betty Shepherd); Loyd Ivey, Dennis George, and Jared Wootten 421; Scott Ivey, Shelby Castillo, and Jamey Wootten 112; David Ivey, Henry Johnson, and Jesse P. Karlsberg 122 (in memory of Ruth Brown); Jeannette DePoy, Karen Ivey, and Elene Stovall 217 (for Louise Holland); Hayden Arp, Isaac Green, Andy Ditzler, and Wes Reed 159; Robert Chambless, B.M. Smith, and Kathy Williams 155 (in memory of Evelyn Harris); John Plunkett, Cecil Roberts, and Judy Chambless 399b (for Earlis McGraw); Cheyenne Ivey, David Brodeur, and Kenneith Calvert 542; Winfred Kerr, Judy Mincey, and Scot Oliver 146; Myron House, Jan House, and Paula Oliver 151; Jerry Creason and Ann Siblole 47t.

Announcements were made. Pearl Guier and Tom George led 448b as the closing song. David Ivey offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Pearl Guier; Vice Chairman—Tom George; Secretary—Judy Caudle