Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

South Georgia Sacred Harp Convention

Liberty Hill Community House, Lamar County, Georgia

Sunday, October 5, 2014

The 95th session of the South Georgia Sacred Harp Convention was called to order by President Bill Hollingsworth leading 31b. John Hollingsworth offered the opening prayer.

Helen Bryson and John Hollingsworth were appointed as the Nominating Committee, Matt Hinton and Jesse Karlsberg were appointed as the Memorial Committee, and Helen Bryson was appointed as Arranging Officer. Bill Hollingsworth led 50b. Leaders: Oscar McGuire 59; Mary Brownlee 183; John Hollingsworth 230; John Plunkett 343; Russ Hanson 299; Hayden Arp 283, 293; Carol Hanson 122; Sandra Wilkinson 168; Erica Hinton 36b; Rebecca Over 540; Charlene Wallace 61, 63; Robert Chambless 163b, 77b.


Bill Hollingsworth brought the class together leading 569t. Leaders: Matt Hinton 138t; Jesse Karlsberg 289; B.M. Smith 123t; Rosemund Watson 503; Martha Harrell 535; Helen Bryson 411; Lisa Bennett 550, 455; David Smead 462, 318.

A business session was held and the following officers were nominated and duly elected: President—Oscar McGuire; Vice President—John Plunkett; Secretary/Treasurer—Mary Brownlee; Assistant Secretary/Treasurer—Bill Hollingsworth; Chaplain—Wayne Watson. The list of singings for the year 2015 were received and confirmed. The business session was closed.


Bill Hollingsworth brought the class together by leading 354t. Leaders: Judy Chambless 548, 549; Wayne Watson 480; Michele Cull 441; Annaliza Cull 448t; Anna Hinton 282; Eli Hinton 65; Misty Mullis 334, 340.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Jesse Karlsberg and Matt Hinton. Jesse Karlsberg led 231 for the following sick and shut-ins: Raymond Hamrick, David Grant, Frances Carnell, Hope Meek, and Joyce Harrison.

Matt Hinton then led 30b in remembrance of the following deceased: Carlene Griffin, Teenie Moody, Shelbie Sheppard, Jetha Brooks, Junie Wooten, and Reuben Ball. Wayne Watson concluded the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Wesley Haley 45t; Rebecca Over 416, 275t; Sandra Wilkinson 345t; Annaliza Cull 268; Hayden Arp 204; Russ Hanson and Carol Hanson 222; B.M. Smith 34b; Lisa Bennett and David Smead 542; Jesse Karlsberg 536; Matt Hinton 176b; John Plunkett 94; Mary Brownlee 556.

After announcements, Rosemund Watson led 347 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Wayne Watson, and the class was dismissed.

President—Oscar McGuire; Vice President—John Plunkett; Secretary—Mary Brownlee