Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Huntsville Sacred Harp Singing

Huntsville, Alabama

Saturday, May 3, 2014

The 29th annual session of the Huntsville Sacred Harp Singing was held on Saturday before the first Sunday in May at Flint River Primitive Baptist Church, Brownsboro, Alabama. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Charles McCravy leading 87. Elder J.L. Hopper offered the opening prayer.

The class was organized by electing or appointing the following officers and committee members: Chairman—Charles McCravy; Vice Chairman—Linton Ballinger; Secretaries—Amanda Hardiman and Teresa Hope; Arranging Committee—Lomax Ballinger and Linton Ballinger; Memorial Committee—Dennis George and Judy Caudle.

Leaders: Lomax Ballinger 144; Amanda Hardiman 312b; Buddy Ballinger 354b; Richard Ivey 212; Vella Dailey 59; Mark Carroll 460; Jimmy Ballinger 84; Cheyenne Ivey 432; Jerry Kitchens 421; Bea Aaron 456; Norma Green and Nate Green 310; David Light 436; Syble Adams 472; David Ballinger 340; Judy Caudle 540; Tom George 52b.


Linton Ballinger led 35 to bring the class back together. Leaders: Rodney Ivey 314; Russ Gordon 335; Teresa Hope 384; Mellie Hope 45t; Amy Smith and Loretta Smith 551; Loyd Ivey 283; Robert Walker 99; Shelby Castillo and Reba Windom 430; B.M. Smith 475; Donna Wootten 274t; Earl Ballinger 97; Geraldine Sharpton 318; Phil Summerlin 348b; Linda Thomas 85; Ed Thacker 396; Joyce Walton and David Ivey 153 (in memory of Jap Walton).


Charles McCravy led 145t to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Ron Harper 228; Lisa Geist 273; Jim Aaron 47b; Scott Ivey 553; Steve Adams and Lisa Geist 331; Melanie Hauff 306; Richard Mauldin 358; Henry Johnson 439; Caleb Dillehay 89; Allison Whitener and Grace Whitener 31t; Gravis Ballinger 112.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Dennis George and Judy Caudle. Dennis spoke on behalf of the sick and shut-ins and read the following list of names: S.T. Reed, Sammie Oliver, Betty Wright, Hobert Ivey, Bill Aplin, Jean Ballinger, Kermit Adams, Nadine Willis, Toney Smith, and Lovoy Smith. He led 400 in their honor.

Judy Caudle spoke in memory of the deceased and read the following list of names: Josie Hyde, Lessie Reed, Jeff Sheppard, Shelbie Sheppard, Mary Kitchens Gardner, Mike Nunn, and Zachary Sharpton—Alabama; Sallie Foreman—Texas; Clayton Ezell—Tennessee; Teenie Moody—Georgia; Carroll Lunsford—California. She led 459 in their memory. Henry Johnson closed the memorial service with prayer.

Leaders: David Ivey 419; Charles Meitinger 352; David Carlton 492; Jeff Adcock and Syble Adams 448t. Charles McCravy offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Charles McCravy leading 123t. Leaders: Larry Ballinger 151; Roberta Strauss 440; Daniel Lee 328; Samuel Sommers 560; Lauren Bock 189; Darrell Swarens 208; J.L. Hopper 149; Sharon DuPriest 137; Shane Wootten 129; Jesse P. Karlsberg 434; Judy Hauff 528; Dennis George 349; Angela Myers 383; Michael Thompson 269; Kelsey Nelson 111b; Bridgett Kennedy 377; Miles Alexander 102; Carol Crawford 369; Daniel Bearden 409; Daphene Causey 140; Ann Drexler 277; Russ Pope 300; Chris Ryan 70b; Laurens Blankers 334; Karen Ivey 327; Jim Crawford 569t.

Following announcements, Charles McCravy and Linton Ballinger led 46 as the closing song. Richard Mauldin offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Charles McCravy; Vice Chairman—Linton Ballinger; Secretaries—Amanda Hardiman and Teresa Hope