Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

South Georgia Sacred Harp Singing Convention

Liberty Hill Community House, Barnesville, Georgia

Sunday, October 6, 2013

The 94th session of the South Georgia Sacred Harp Singing Convention was called to order at 10:13 a.m. by President Bill Hollingsworth leading 31b. John Hollingsworth offered the opening prayer. President Hollingsworth made the following appointments: Arranging Officer—Helen Bryson; Memorial Committee—Rita Haley and Mary Brownlee; Nominating Committee—Wesley Haley and Raymond Hamrick.

Leaders: Bill Hollingsworth 50b; Oscar McGuire 34b, 59; David Grant 523, 569b; Rita Haley 268, 155; Wayne Watson 47b, 49b; John Hollingsworth 186, 460; Mary Brownlee 438, 183; Robert Chambless 39t, 303; Cora Wareh 127, 128.


President Hollingsworth called the class back to order leading 101t. Leaders: Charlene Wallace 129, 135; Matt Hinton 134, 139; Chris Tweedy 282, 100; Judy Chambless 464, 472.

The class went into a business session. President Hollingsworth called on the Nominating Committee to present its suggested slate of officers. Wesley Haley and Raymond Hamrick put forward the following for approval: President—Bill Hollingsworth; Vice President—Oscar McGuire; Secretary—Mary Brownlee; Chaplain—John Hollingsworth. This slate was duly elected by unanimous vote. The list of singings for 2013 was revised and confirmed. Treasurer Rita Haley presented her report. There was a motion, a second, and unanimous vote to accept the report as presented. The business session was adjourned.

Leaders: Erica Hinton 366 (?), 314; Russ Hanson 445, 27; Jesse P. Karlsberg 278b, 428.


Oscar McGuire brought the class back together leading 145t. Leaders: Tarik Wareh 373; Carol Hanson 388; Robert Kelley 375; Faiz Wareh 374, 193; Eric Tweedy 347; Tommy Hanson 515; Eli Hinton 77t; Sandra Wilkinson 110; John Kelso 426t.

Rita Haley and Mary Brownlee conducted the memorial lesson. Those deceased in the last year included Jeff Sheppard and Bud Oliver. Shut-ins included Jeptha Brooks, Kate Watson, and Karen Edwards. Mary Brownlee and Rita Haley led 111b for both the deceased and sick. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer offered by Wayne Watson.

Leaders: Rosemund Watson 503; Jessica Kelso 77b; Anna Hinton 40; Martha Harrell 178; Helen Bryson 411; Jesse P. Karlsberg 413 (for Hugh McGraw, who was present); Faiz Wareh 440; Robert Kelley 115; Cora Wareh 69t; Matt Hinton 73t; Eric Tweedy 301; Sandra Wilkinson 376; Tommy Hanson 299; Rosemund Watson 149; John Kelso 160t; Martha Harrell and Mary Brownlee 542.

Following announcements, President Hollingsworth led 569t as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by John Hollingsworth.

President—Bill Hollingsworth; Vice President—Oscar McGuire; Secretary—Mary Brownlee