Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cotaco Convention

Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church, Eva, Alabama

Saturday, July 27, 2013

The 125th session of the Cotaco Convention was held at Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church, Morgan County, Alabama, on Saturday before the fourth Sunday in July. The class was called to order by J.L. Hopper leading 184 and 128. Nicholas Thompson offered the opening prayer.

In a business session, the following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—J.L. Hopper; Vice Chairman—Butch White; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Officer—Nicholas Thompson.

Leaders: Judy Caudle 33b, 82t; Nicholas Thompson 270, 123t; Butch White 147t, 147b; Nancy Thompson 405 (for Patsy Walden), 65 (for Lily Hopper); Bridgett Kennedy 389 (for Ozella Blackmon), 276 (for Glenda Hopper); Christopher Mann 106, 114; Bea Aaron 80b, 112; Tom George 69t, 141; Hazel Heinze 68b, 84; Carol Fannin 225t, 399b; Kelsey Ivey 435, 403; Daniel Bearden 516, 488.


The class was brought back together by J.L. Hopper leading 49t. Leaders: Colin Neel 198, 163b; Stuart Ivey 497, 107; Margaret Thacker 569b (for Betty Wright), 480; Riley Lee 74t, 458; Loyd Ivey 73t (in memory of Bud Oliver), 438; Lauren Bock 394 (for the Exeter singers); Lauren Bock and Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 572; Ed Thacker 546, 528; Milford Cobbs 75, 127; Dennis George 477, 450. Butch White offered a blessing before thenoon meal.


The afternoon session began with Butch White leading 348b. Leaders: Henry Johnson 82b, 375; Nathan Rees 374, 193; Karen Ivey 32t, 391; Daniel Hopper 140, 479; Delone Cobbs 490, 354t; Jake Wilson 108b; Cheyenne Ivey 168; Eugene Forbes 175, 426t; Kenneth Fannin 288, 455; Henry Guthery 512 (in memory of Harrison Creel), 507 (for Josie Hyde); Lomax Ballinger 274b; David Ivey 192 (for Ozella Blackmon); Scott Kennedy 229, 454 (for Jeff Sheppard); Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 291; Scott Ivey 160b; Jim Aaron 503; Kermit Adams 327; Steve Adams 378t; Richard Ivey 202; Jonathon Smith 352; Richard Ivey and Daire O’Sullivan 500.

Announcements were made. J.L. Hopper led 62 as the closing song. Henry Guthery offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—J.L. Hopper; Vice Chairman—Butch White; Secretary—Judy Caudle