Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

New York State Regional Singing

Old Songs Community Arts Center, Voorheesville, New York

Saturday, June 8, 2013

The Albany area New York State Regional singing was called to order by Tarik Wareh leading 33b. The opening prayer was offered by Jean Seiler.

Leaders: Jean Seiler 47t; Eileen Willie 59; Joanne Fuller 29t; Alex Jones 34b; Cora Wareh 333; Mary Skidmore 319; Sally Langendorf 138b; Terry Ryan 100; Claudia Smigelski 68b; Andal Sundaramurthy 101b; Patricia Geritz 43; Faiz Wareh 523.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Tarik Wareh; Secretary—Eileen Willie.


The class was called back to order by MaryAnne Morrison leading 479. Leaders: Allison Steel 165; Carol Huang 201; Eileen Metzger 159; Dennis Leipold 192; Sheila Kelley 430; Jeremy Galvagni 191; Pat Callahan 189; Nancy Mandel 89; Erin Johnson-Hill 217; Pattie Wareh 155.

The Vice President of the Sacred Harp Publishing Company, Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg, presented a posthumous award to George Seiler for his untiring support and dedicated service to the cause of Sacred Harp. George taught singers throughout the Northeast through his graceful, humble example and often summoned a class to attention simply with the word “Friends”, the embodiment of the Sacred Harp community. Jesse and Jean Seiler led 146 in memory of George. Leaders: Mary Skidmore 228; Linda Shea 475.


Eileen Willie and Stuart Raab led 84 to call the class back to order. Leaders: Gwen Gethner 411; Faiz Wareh 49b; Angharad Davis 144; Sam Kleinman 422; Sally Langendorf 147t; Ian Quinn 297; Paula Picton 276; Thom Metzger and Rich Rugenstein 198; Mathew Leger-Small 365; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg, Linda Pearlman Karlsberg, and Mark Karlsberg 380; Jean Seiler 72b; Tarik Wareh 229; Terry Ryan 218; Alex Jones 270; Jeffrey Brakensiek 168; Cora Wareh 110. Allison Steel offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Dennis Leipold, Weatherly Webb, and Quincy Webb leading 186. Leaders: Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 392; Gwen Gethner 196; Sam Kleinman 434; Linda Shea 361; Eileen Metzger 383; Ian Quinn 500; Allison Steel 99; Thom Metzger 269; Pat Callahan 179; Matthew Leger-Small 551; Paula Picton 546; Jeremy Galvagni 440; Carol Huang 436; Nancy Mandel 474; Erin Johnson-Hill 477; Sheila Kelley 455; Andal Sundaramurthy 171; Angharad Davis 445; Pattie Wareh 40; Patricia Geritz 268.


Joanne Fuller and Marissa Relyea led 176b to call the final session to order. Leaders: Dennis Leipold 480; Claudia Smigelski 101t; Eileen Willie 388; Jean Seiler 492; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 540; Walter Keeley 117; Eileen Metzger and Thom Metzger 423; Pat Callahan and Andal Sundaramurthy 299; Linda Shea, Sheila Kelley, Matthew Leger-Small, and Jeremy Galvagni 215; Paula Picton, Erin Johnson-Hill, Ian Quinn, and Angharad Davis 300; Carol Huang, Sam Kleinman, Gwen Gethner, Terry Ryan, and Nancy Mandel 274t; the Wareh family 347.

Announcements were made. The officers led 62 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Paula Picton, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Tarik Wareh; Secretary—Eileen Willie