Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Labor Day Singing

Shoal Creek Church, Cleburne County, Alabama

Monday, September 3, 2012

The 92nd session of the annual Labor Day Sacred Harp Singing was held at Shoal Creek Church in Talladega National Forest, Cleburne County, Alabama, on the first Monday in September. The class was called to order by B.M. Smith leading 59. The opening prayer was offered by Henry Johnson.

Leaders: B.M. Smith 101t; Cecil Roberts 547, 229; Judy Caudle 389; Judy Chambless 82t; Bert Collins and Glenda Collins 100; Karen Rollins 327; Susan Cherones 107; Henry Johnson 322; Virginia Dyer 454; Paula Picton 373; Christina Wallin 276; Judy Mincey 475; Matt Hinton 99; Robert Chambless 225t; Nathalie Levine 81t; Joyce Lambert 127; Darrell Swarens 569b, 189; Bill Beverly 191; Hayden Arp 409; Tony Hammock 314.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—B.M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Officer—Judy Chambless.


B.M. Smith led 270 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Martha Beverly 430; Bridgett Kennedy 37b; Jack Nelson 117; Kenneith Calvert 63; Edna Ruth Phillips 480; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 564; Fallon Cook 192; Alan Jones 317; John Plunkett 123t; Wendy Futral 196; Erica Hinton 108t; Charlene Wallace 85; Judy Greene 147t; Will Dover 47b; Anna Hinton 277; Eli Hinton 472; Martha Beverly 377; Evelyn Harris 155; Christina Wallin 77t; Bill Beverly 163b; Darrell Swarens and Charity Vaughn 128; Nathalie Levine 89; John Plunkett 271t; Judy Greene 334; Kenneith Calvert 287; Alan Jones 40; Joe Jones, Francis Jones, Alan Jones, and Judy Greene 358.

Joe Jones spoke about the history of Shoal Creek Church, and of the families that have supported the historic site and Sacred Harp singing for many years. Cecil Roberts offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Cecil Roberts leading 97. Leaders: Karen Rollins 45t (in memory of Lonnie Rogers); Butch White 282; Abigail Moore 162; Ann Simpson 354b; Lou Cotney 300; Curtis Hamrick 137; Claudia Smigelski 68b; Judy Caudle 421 (for Bud Oliver); Susan Cherones 209; Henry Johnson 337; Virginia Dyer 532; Joyce Lambert 141; Robert Chambless 503 (in memory of B.J. Harris); Hayden Arp 384; Tony Hammock 138b; Judy Mincey 410t; Matt Hinton 278t; Bridgett Kennedy 440; Jack Nelson 560; Edna Ruth Phillips 143; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 329; Fallon Cook 269; Erica Hinton 111b.

B.M. Smith and Cecil Roberts led 46 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Cecil Roberts, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—B.M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Secretary—Judy Caudle