Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Lacy Memorial

Fuller Cemetery, Ider, Alabama

Sunday, July 29, 2012

The annual Lacy Memorial Sacred Harp singing held on the first fifth Sunday following the 4th of July was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Reba Windom and Betty Shepherd leading 59. The morning prayer was offered by Henry Johnson.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Co-chairmen—Reba Windom and Betty Shepherd; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Officer—Michael Thompson.

Leaders: Reba Windom and Betty Shepherd 101t (in memory of Leonard Lacy); Judy Caudle 42 (for Bud Oliver); Blake Sisemore 556; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 39t; B.M. Smith 441; Paula Oliver 385b; Jackson Harcrow 56b; Susan Cherones 209; Angela Myers 344; Nathan Rees 90; Carolyn Thompson 500; Denney Rogers 143; Linton Ballinger 212; Kelsey Wessels 171; Henry Johnson 398; Ed Thacker 198; Erica Hinton 102; Scott Ivey 430; Lela Crowder 29t; Cerys Matthews 29b; Loretta Smith and Amy Smith 48t; Jeff Sheppard 99; Anna Hinton 300; Lacy Collier and Josh Collier 46.


Richard Ivey led 56t to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Michael Thompson and Joyce Walton 456; Matt Hinton 131b; Deborah Morton, Betty Shepherd, and Reba Windom 299; Michael Spencer 205; Mildred McElroy 218; Jonathan Smith 360; Charlene Wallace 283; Scot Oliver 145b; Sonny Erwin 68b (for Curtis Owen); Cheryl Foreman 224; Bridgett Kennedy 564; Elizabeth Eaton 547; the Lacy family 45t.


The class was brought back together by Kelsey Ivey leading 153.

Leaders: Jeannette DePoy 328; Sharon DuPriest 434 (for Daphene Causey); Betty Wright 569b; Judy Mincey 464; Margaret Thacker 339; John Plunkett 227; David Ivey and Rodney Ivey 380; Warren Steel 211 (in memory of Julietta Haynes); David Carlton 220; Judy Chambless 540 (in memory of Julietta Haynes); Cindy Tanner 269; Rene Greene 137.

The blessing before the noon meal was offered by John Plunkett.


The afternoon session began with Jenna Strizak leading 138b. Leaders: Rebecca Over 527; Emma Rose Brown 498; Hayden Arp 112; Susan Harcrow and Drew Smith 475; Betty Shepherd, Bridgett Kennedy, Angela Myers, Judy Caudle, and Elizabeth Keeling 216; Michael Walker 377; Lynne deBenedette 383 (in memory of Jerry Enright and for Karen Freund); Pam Nunn 189; Loyd Ivey and Susan Harcrow 426b; Sarah Jenkins and Richard Ivey 362; Karen Rollins 298 (in memory of Lonnie Rogers); Darrell Swarens 111b (in memory of Harrison Creel and Bill Tanner); Kelsey Ivey and Richard Ivey 217; Katy Kanfer 165; Eloise Wootten 454; Erin Mills 542; Lauren Bock and Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 411; Rachel Rudi 392; Jackie Tanner 208; David Broduer 384; Cheyenne Ivey 108t; Karen Ivey 192; Cecil Roberts 89; Phil Summerlin 415; Hobert Ivey and Linda Thomas 47t; Tony Ivey 332; Eli Hinton 268; Reba Windom and Betty Shepherd 196.

Reba Windom and Betty Shepherd led 146 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Phil Summerlin, and the class was dismissed.

Co-chairwomen—Reba Windom and Betty Shepherd; Secretary—Judy Caudle