Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

State Line Church

Near Muscadine, Cleburne County, Alabama

Saturday, April 7, 2012

The annual Sacred Harp singing at State Line Church, off Hwy 78 at the Georgia/Alabama state line in Cleburne County, Alabama, was held on Saturday before the second Sunday in April. The class was called to order by Jeff Sheppard leading 142. Rodney Ivey led 32t. The opening prayer was offered by Tom Owen.

The following officers were retained to serve: Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Vice Chairman—B.M. Smith; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Officer—Judy Chambless.

Leaders: B.M. Smith 82t; Judy Chambless 146; Judy Caudle 176t; Blake Sisemore 454; Ben Bath 411; Tom Owen 163b; Loyd Ivey 337; Judy Mincey 474; Nate Green and Norma Green 415; Elene Stovall 534; Kendra Strickland 47t; Denney Rogers 318; Molly Wexler-Romig 335; Henry Johnson 166; Karen Rollins 317; Donnie Simmons 39t; Tom George 141; Philip Denney 120; Jeannette DePoy 89; Robert Chambless 84.


B.M. Smith led 389 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Darrell Swarens 217; Reba Windom 328; Helen Bryson 456; Leigh Cooper 216; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 126; Virginia Dyer 340; Rene Greene 236; Matt Hinton 365; Jonathan Smith 302; Kathy Williams 455; Tony Hammock 314; John Plunkett 104; Sandra Wilkinson 311; Jack Nelson 500; Pam Nunn 507; Hayden Arp 434; Bea Carnathan 568; Dennis George 156.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Helen Bryson. She spoke and read a poem. Nathan Rees led 30b in memory of the following deceased: Marie Ivey—Alabama; John Shippee, Nick Griffin, Lonnie Rogers, Susan Muse, George Holland—Georgia; Leland Owen—Texas; Dr. Julietta Haynes—Tennessee.

Jeannette DePoy led 385t in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: Jetha Brooks, Raymond Hamrick, Cathy White, Eugene Forbes, Lois Bowman, Violet Thomason, Terry Maher, Bud Oliver, Sammie Oliver, S.T.

Reed, Lessie Reed, and Harrison Creel. Matt Hinton offered prayer to close the memorial service.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Rodney Ivey leading 129.

Leaders: Riley Lee 26; Nathan Rees 193; Mark Godfrey 163t; Erica Hinton 440; Cecil Roberts 40; John Kelso 562; J.R. Hardman 472; Ed Thacker 498; Lou Cotney 218; Shelbie Sheppard 29b; David Brodeur 480; Jerry Creason 183; Fallon Cook 39b; Charlene Wallace 481; Molly Ellis 300; Susan Cherones 186; Margaret Thacker 303; Jim Aaron 503; Evelyn Harris 155; Ann Simpson 445; Margie Smith 101t; Jeff Sheppard 439; Cheyenne Ivey 222; Ben Bath, Tom Owen, Nathan Rees, J.R. Hardman; Darrell Swarens, and Donnie Simmons 192; Blake Sisemore 294 (by request); Eli Hinton 268; Shelbie Sheppard, Pam Nunn, Rene Greene, Virginia Dyer, and Fallon Cook 269 (in memory of Lessie Cates); Anna Hinton 277.

Rodney Ivey and B.M. Smith led 521 as the closing song. Henry Johnson offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Vice Chairman—B.M. Smith; Secretary—Judy Caudle