Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Rogers Memorial Singing

Ephesus School, Roopville, Georgia

Sunday, March 4, 2012

The annual Rogers Memorial Sacred Harp singing was held at Ephesus Elementary School on the first Sunday in March. Singing commenced at 9:30 a.m. with Denney Rogers leading 101t. Henry Johnson offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Stanly Edwards 435; Karen Rollins 32t.

The business session was then held. On motion, duly seconded, the same officers were elected as follows: Chairman—Denney Rogers; Vice Chairman—Stanly Edwards; Secretary—Karen Rollins. B.M. Smith made a motion to name the singing the Rogers Memorial singing to include all the singers in the Rogers family rather than the Mr. and Mrs. Frank Rogers Memorial singing. After a short discussion, this motion passed unanimously. Judy Chambless was named to do the work of the Arranging Committee, and John Plunkett and Karen Rollins were named to the Memorial Committee. Mayor Denney Rogers gave the official welcome, and the business session closed.

Leaders: Judy Chambless 34b; Leigh Cooper 225t; Loyd Ivey 303; Louis Hughes 405 (in memory of Everette Denney); Susan Harcrow 318; Erica Hinton 112; Michael Spencer 382; Helen Bryson 328; Sharon DuPriest 313t; Scott Ivey 314; Shannon Primm 157; Jack Nelson 206; Reba Windom 300; Robert Chambless 40; B.M. Smith 350; John Plunkett 351; Lela Crowder 186; Henry Johnson 515; Rodney Ivey 436; Tony Hammock 204.


The class was brought back to order by Stanly Edwards leading 208. Leaders: Danny Creel 383; Scott DePoy 48t; Donna Bell 546; Glenda Collins and Burt Collins 340; Buell Cobb 42; Wanda Capps 298; Ken Tate 201; Cheyenne Ivey 217; Ed Thacker 455; Jonathon Smith 32b; Lauren Bock 422; Jerry Creason 344; Margaret Thacker 235; Charlene Wallace 155 (for Nick, Carlene, and Danny Griffin); John Kelso 41; Judy Mincey 468; Oscar McGuire 473; David Brodeur 142; Virginia Dyer 137; Philip Denney 61 (in memory of Susan Muse); Nathan Rees 414; Jesse P. Karlsberg 511; Malinda Snow 96; Mark Godfrey 448t; Fallon Cook 146; Lou Cotney 218; Matt Hinton 460; Susan Cherones 107; Richard Mauldin 339. Philip Denney offered the blessing before the noon meal.


Rodney Ivey called the singers together leading 345b. Leaders: Beverly Thompson and Jade Thompson 59; Diane Avery 299.

The memorial lesson was then held. Karen Rollins spoke of the sick and shut-ins and encouraged everyone to make calls, send cards, and visit. Those on this list included Bud Oliver, Dr. Julietta Haynes, John Grant, S.T. Reed, Lessie Reed, Betty Wright, Willard Wright, Josephine Denney, Josie Hyde, Johnie Chafin, Stella Pratt, Leona Haynes, Mona Nelson, Eugene Forbes, Cathy White, Violet Thomason, M.H. Creel, and Jeannette DePoy. Oscar McGuire led 57 for these people.

John Plunkett spoke about Psalm 116 and its relation to page 298, one of the favorite songs of Lonnie Rogers. The children of Lonnie Rogers then led 45t in his memory. John read the names of those on the deceased list as follows: Lonnie Rogers, George Holland, Parrie Reimer, Arlin Runels, Susan Muse, Barbara Denney, Hazel Dunn, John Shippee, James Tolbert, Betty Ward, Luanne Hardin Turner, Jimmy Harrell, and Larry Corse—Georgia; Marie Ivey, Travis Keeton, Clarence McCool, and Wayne Morgan—Alabama; John Merritt—Mississippi; Virginia Cowart—Arkansas; Neil Sims—South Carolina. Henry Johnson led 409 in memory of the deceased. Matt Hinton closed the memorial lesson with a prayer.

Leaders: Randa Harris, Kayla McWhorter, Susan Rice, and Beverly Thompson (grand-daughters of Lonnie Rogers) 143; Evelyn Harris 47t; Doron Henkin 187; Donna Duke and Gene Duke 47b; Sheri Taylor and Lisa Webb 269; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg and Lauren Bock 131b; Mark Godfrey and Leigh Cooper 176t; Rodney Ivey, Scott Ivey, Loyd Ivey, and Cheyenne Ivey 389; Helen Bryson and John Plunkett 532; Tony Hammock, Scott DePoy, and Ed Thacker 434; Jerry Creason, Jack Nelson, and Sharon DuPriest 540; Donna Bell, Shannon Primm, and Robert Chambless 138t; Margaret Thacker, B.M. Smith, and Margie Smith 480; Reba Windom and Susan Cherones 282; Henry Johnson, John Kelso, and Nathan Rees 521; David Brodeur, Doron Henkin, and Jonathon Smith 333; Susan Harcrow, Stanly Edwards, and Wanda Capps 475; Mike Spencer, Philip Denney, and Richard Mauldin 358; Danny Creel, Buell Cobb, and Oscar McGuire 196; Fallon Cook and Cecil Roberts 97; Malinda Snow and Charlene Wallace 209; Erica Hinton, Matt Hinton, Anna Hinton, and Elijah Hinton 277; Ken Tate 236 (by request); Judy Chambless and Judy Mincey 547; Lisa Webb, Sheri Taylor, Gene Duke, and Donna Duke 319.

Announcements were made. Denney Rogers, Stanly Edwards, and Karen Rollins led 62 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Richard Mauldin.

Chairman—Denney Rogers; Vice Chairman—Stanly Edwards; Secretary—Karen Rollins