Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Burnham and Brown Memorial

Wesley Foundation Student Center, Jacksonville, Alabama

Sunday, February 5, 2012

The annual Sacred Harp singing in memory of Uncle Bob Burnham, Leman Brown, and Ruth Brown was held on the first Sunday in February. The class was called to order by Pearl Guier leading 59. The opening prayer was offered by Ed Thacker.

Leaders: Jeff Sheppard 46; Judy Caudle 37b; Pam Nunn 186; Cheyenne Ivey 76b, 176b; Robert Chambless 384 (for Coy Ivey), 70t; Cecil Roberts 105, 35; Loyd Ivey 201, 208; Margie Smith 108t, 225t; Susan Cherones 107, 481; Henry Johnson 337, 338; Judy Chambless 527.


Pearl Guier led 448b to bring the class back to order. A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Pearl Guier; Vice Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Officer—Pam Nunn.

Leaders: Jamey Wootten 36b; Scot Oliver 100; Margaret Thacker 480; Nate Green and Norma Green 347 (for Betty and Willard Wright); Lou Cotney 218; Maci Gouvitsa 354b; Robert Walker 350; Sandra Wilkinson 168; J.R. Hardman 159; Paula Oliver 182; Buell Cobb 88b; Charlene Wallace 269; Ed Thacker 383; B.M. Smith 204; Joan Aldridge 167; Cindy Tanner 220; Nathan Rees 374.


The class was brought back together by Jeff Sheppard leading 187. Leaders: Angela Myers 564; Jeannette DePoy 129; Karen Rollins 472; Scott Ivey 163t; Judy Mincey 538; Blake Sisemore 436; Mark Noonan 312b; Lauren Bock 145t; Terry Wootten 317; Tom George 408; Jonathon Smith 442; Lela Crowder 300; David Ivey 316; Susan Harcrow 50t; Sharon DuPriest 189; Dennis George 373; John Kelso 428; Rodney Ivey and Bridgett Kennedy 31t (in memory of Ruth Brown and Felton Denney); John Plunkett 150. The blessing before the noon meal was offered by Cecil Roberts.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Jeff Sheppard leading 155. Leaders: Rene Greene 542; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 377; Richard Ivey 458; Reba Windom 546; Jackson Harcrow and Blake Sisemore 507; Bridgett Kennedy and Rodney Ivey 500; Virginia Dyer 193; Kenneith Calvert and Michael Rich 287; Ann Simpson 445; Cheyenne Ivey, Nathan Rees, and Scott Ivey 292; Jeannette DePoy, Susan Cherones, and Judy Caudle 142; Rene Greene, Lauren Bock, and Richard Ivey 405; Terry Wootten, Loyd Ivey, and Karen Rollins 389 (for Lonnie Rogers); Judy Mincey, Henry Johnson, and Robert Chambless 348b (for Lonnie Rogers); Jackson Harcrow, Reba Windom, and David Ivey 456; Tom George, Jamey Wootten, and Scot Oliver 112; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg, Jonathon Smith, and John Plunkett 131b; Cecil Roberts, Dennis George, and John Kelso 146; Bridgett Kennedy, Sharon DuPriest, and Judy Chambless 99; Rodney Ivey, Margie Smith, and Blake Sisemore 176t; Susan Harcrow, Maci Gouvitsa, Joan Aldridge, and Mark Noonan 345b; Lela Crowder, Buell Cobb, and Angela Myers 425; Lou Cotney, Cindy Tanner, and Ed Thacker 498; Michael Rich, Virginia Dyer, and J.R. Hardman 81t; Nate Green, Norma Green, and Kenneith Calvert 418; Charlene Wallace, Paula Oliver, and B.M. Smith 318; Ann Simpson, Robert Walker, and Sandra Wilkinson 171.

Pearl Guier and Jeff Sheppard led 45t as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Cecil Roberts, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Pearl Guier; Vice Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Secretary—Judy Caudle