Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Labor Day Singing

Shoal Creek Church, Cleburne County, Alabama

Monday, September 6, 2010

The 90th session of the annual Labor Day Sacred Harp Singing was held at Shoal Creek Church in Talladega National Forest, Cleburne County, Alabama, on the first Monday in September. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Jeff Sheppard leading 61. The morning prayer was offered by John Plunkett.

Leaders: Judy Chambless 82t; Judy Caudle 36b.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—B.M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Committee—Judy Chambless.

Leaders: B.M. Smith 123t; Rodney Ivey 131b; Eugene Forbes 317; Matt Hinton 37b; Loyd Ivey 111t; Erica Hinton 105; Stanley Edwards and Zack 500; Solomon Ossa 56b; Darrell Swarens 189; Wendy Futral 339; Tony Hammock 303; Deidra Montgomery 90; Robert Chambless 84; Bert Collins and Glenda Collins 100; Michael Thompson 34t; Judy Mincey 475; Dennis George 417.


The class was brought back together by B.M. Smith leading 143. Leaders: Henry Johnson 409; Richard Ivey 207; Nate Green 378b; Jim Aaron 503; Molly Ellis 196; Aldo Ceresa 431; John Plunkett 325; Nate Zweig 318; Louise Holland 49b; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 43; Curtis Hamrick 77t; Virginia Dyer 340; Cecil Roberts 30b; Richard DeLong 74t; Kathy Willis 358 (by request); John Kelso 456; Lance Phillips 454; Michael Rich 212; Kristi Willis 155; Joan Durdin 178; Charlene Wallace 99; Lou Cotney 218; Evelyn Harris 479; Michael Thompson 411; Rachel Rudi 410b; Blake Sisemore 530. The blessing before the noon meal was offered by Cecil Roberts.


Rodney Ivey called the afternoon session to order by leading 89. Leaders: John Kelso and Michael Thompson 329 (by request); Blake Sisemore 527; Deidra Montgomery 470; Molly Ellis 42; Richard DeLong 123b; Judy Greene 127; Nate Zweig 170; Tony Hammock 544; Aldo Ceresa 91; Kathy Willis 522; Virginia Dyer 532; Richard Ivey, Rodney Ivey, and Loyd Ivey 283; Erica Hinton and Catherine Grisso 126; Darrell Swarens, Carole Watts, and Judy Caudle 344; Henry Johnson and Dennis George 439; Charlene Wallace, John Plunkett, and John Kelso 441; Judy Mincey and Solomon Ossa 29b; Jeff Sheppard and Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 75; Eugene Forbes and Wendy Futral 384; Cecil Roberts and Curtis Hamrick 97; B.M Smith and Margie Smith 225t; Stanley Edwards, Rachel Rudi, and Zack 380; Ann Simpson 323b; Bert Collins and Glenda Collins 101t; Kristi Willis and Michael Rich 274t; Judy Chambless and Robert Chambless 565; Anna Hinton 277.

B.M. Smith and Rodney Ivey led 521 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Cecil Roberts, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—B.M. Smith; Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Secretary—Judy Caudle