Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Hopewell Primitive Baptist Church

Roopville, Near Ephesus, Georgia

Sunday, June 20, 2010

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Hopewell Primitive Baptist Church in Roopville, Georgia, was held on the third Sunday in June. The class was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Karen Rollins leading 32t. The opening prayer was offered by Matt Hinton. Bentley McGuire led 313t.

During the business session the following officers were elected: Chairlady—Karen Rollins; Vice Chairman—Bentley McGuire; Secretary—Judy Chambless; Arranging Committee—Judy Chambless and Margie Smith; Memorial Committee—Paige Harrod and Sharona Nelson.

Leaders: B.M. Smith 350; Kathy Williams 176b; Aldo Ceresa 77b; Helen Brown 391; Robert Chambless 225t; Stanley Edwards and Jesse Godsey 340; Charlene Wallace 141; Nathan Rees 317; Jeanette DePoy 348b; Robert Stoddard 522; Floy Wilder 397; George Garner and Donna Bell 454; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 126; Margaret Gillanders 39 (t? b?); Tony Hammock 303; Rodney Ivey 30b; Eddie Mash 105; Molly Ellis 163b; Ted Brown 496; Jeff Sheppard 432; Michael Walker 138b; Elizabeth Stoddard 283; Matt Hinton 422; John Plunkett 413; Oscar McGuire 485; Lonnie Rogers’s children 405, 143.


The class resumed singing with Scott DePoy leading 448t. Leaders: Jack Nelson 266; Shannon Primm 319; Jade Thompson 59; Richard DeLong 458; Phillipa Stoddard 187; Erica Hinton 157; Sharona Nelson 189; Margie Smith and B.M. Smith 441; Robert Kelley 125; Evelyn Harris 155; John Kelso 274t; Sheri Taylor and Laura Frey 318; Lonnie Rogers’s grandchildren 268. Denney Rogers gave the financial report for the church.


The afternoon session began with Bentley McGuire leading 138b. Leaders: Lela Crowder 217; Susan Muse and Phillis Bickers 159 (for Meryl Denney and Josephine Denney).

The memorial lesson was conducted by Paige Harrod and Sharona Nelson. Paige Harrod read the following list of deceased: Leonard Maxwell, Bernice Rogers, Jimmie Denney, Tyre Denney, Charles White, Jerry Enright, Alvaretta Williams, and Jimmy Johnson. Kathy Williams led 347. Richard DeLong and Peggy White led 45t for Charles “Chuck” White.

Sharona Nelson led 107 for the following sick and shut-ins: Tokay Denney Shumake, Josephine Denney, Meryl Denney, Cath Oss Tyler. Phillip Denney offered prayer to close the memorial lesson.

Leaders: Malinda Snow 75; Anita Landess 168; Stephanie Laubscher and Phillip Denney 84; Gerald Rogers 480; Dick Plunkett 389; Helen Brown 235; Eddie Mash 91; Margaret Gillanders 142; Michael Walker 298; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 428; Aldo Ceresa 411; Nathan Rees 387; Robert Kelley and Lela Crowder 112; Molly Ellis and Stephanie Laubscher 47b.

Announcements were made. Karen Rollins led 46 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by John Plunkett.

Chairlady—Karen Rollins; Vice Chairman—Bentley McGuire; Secretary—Judy Chambless