Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Crossroads Baptist Church

North of Tallapoosa, Georgia

Sunday, July 6, 2008

The 95th session of the Sacred Harp singing at Crossroads Baptist Church, north of Tallapoosa, Georgia, was held on the first Sunday in July. Louis Hughes called the class to order leading 32t. After welcoming everyone, Louis Hughes introduced the pastor, Elder Bobby Clark, who gave a brief history of the church. Cecil Roberts offered the morning prayer. Leaders: Miranel Swafford 313t; Donna Bell 155; Louis Hughes, Jr. 112.

A business session was held with the following officers retained: Chairman—Louis Hughes; Vice Chairlady—Miranel Swafford; Secretary—Donna Bell; Arranging Committee—Louis Hughes, Jr.

Leaders: Louis Hughes 138b (in memory of his father, Elder J. C. Hughes, and grandfather, Elder George Lawson Hughes); B. M. Smith 101t; Sharon Strong 162; Karen Rollins 405; Michael Walker 31t; Sandra Wilkinson 406; Mary Jo Shafer 452; Judy Chambless 179; Jennie Brown 157; Lauren Bock and Anna Hendrick 361; Tom Malone 548; Nathan Rees 465; Kelsey Sunderland 87; Lonnie Rogers 97, 389 (by request).


The class was called back to order by Louis Hughes, Jr., Katie Curry, Sarah Curry, and Sallie Hughes leading 34b. Leaders: Charlene Wallace 99; Lela Crowder 391; Tom Ivey 113; Justin Squizzero 292; Joanna Lampert 138t; Bentley McGuire 556; Ann Simpson 47t; Allison Thompson 145t; Robert Chambless 317; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 541; Karen Swenson 187; Chris Holley 229; Oscar McGuire 54; Karen Clark 354t.

Louis Hughes recognized Mattie Lou Pope, Dorsey Newman, and Lonnie Rogers, all over 90 years of age. Mr. Lonnie spoke of being at Camp FaSoLa earlier in the week and was very impressed with the number of “young people” taking an interest in Sacred Harp singing. Mr. Lonnie thanked everyone for coming.


Louis Hughes brought the class back together leading 75. Leaders: John Plunkett 104; Eschol Hughes 59; Mike Grimes 551 (for Nick Griffin).

Louis Hughes conducted the memorial lesson. Cecil Roberts led 385t for the following sick and shut-ins: Renea Campbell, Mary Florence Smith, Jimmie Denney, Dale Harris, Evelyn Harris, Ceford Wood, and Ruth Daniel.

Karen Clark led 499 in memory of the following deceased: Douglas McCray, Lillian McCray Brock, LaRue Allen, B.J. Harris, Reby Stanford, Myrtle Smith, Lee Williamson, Felton Denney, Floye Hulsey, Minja Lausevic, Calvin Pope, Rev. J. T. Williams, Belle Williams, Cecil Gable, Irvin Roberts, Corene Laminack, Amanda Denson Brady, Milton Oliver, and Gladys McGraw. John Plunkett closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Carlene Griffin 448b; George Garner 454; Eric Robinson 569b; Aaron Little 348b. Elder Bobby Clark offered the blessing for the noon meal at the table.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Louis Hughes, Jr. leading 225t. Leaders: Cecil Roberts 129; Daphene Causey 222; Barbara Willard, Rodney Willard, Louis Hughes, and Joanna Lampert 128; James Newman and Elaine Newman 111t; Jeff Sheppard 121; Anna Hendrick 127; Chris Holley 111b; Jennie Brown 466; Lauren Bock 217; Tom Malone 188; Kelsey Sunderland 379; Justin Squizzero 197; Karen Swenson 402; Louis Hughes, Janice Hughes, Louis Hughes, Jr., Sallie Hughes, Katie Curry, Sarah Curry, Jeff Dodson, Lynne Dodson, Will Dodson, Allison Thompson, Eschol Hughes, and Elaine Newman 335; Nathan Rees 422; Michael Walker 298; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 572; Mike Grimes 106; Joanna Lampert 318; Tom Ivey 562; Ann Simpson 378t; Sharon Strong 479; Sandra Wilkinson 311; Mary Jo Shafer 49b; Aaron Little 480; Bentley McGuire 31b; Karen Clark 569t; Kathe Pilibosian 448t; Oscar McGuire 441; James Hughes and Cecil Roberts 45t; Jo Ann Grimes and Mike Grimes 236.

Announcements were made. Louis Hughes and Miranel Swafford led 347 as the closing song. Elder Gerald Sloman offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Louis Hughes; Vice Chairlady—Miranel Swafford; Secretary—Donna Bell