Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Middle Georgia Sacred Harp Singing

Vineville United Methodist Church, Macon, Georgia

Saturday, April 19, 2008

The 5th annual Middle Georgia Sacred Harp singing was held on Saturday before the third Sunday in April at Vineville United Methodist Church, Macon, Georgia.

Hugh McGraw taught a singing school for one hour before the singing.

Harry Eskew called the class to order leading 34b. John Hollingsworth offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: John Plunkett 54; Bentley McGuire 142; John Hollingsworth 347; Martha Johnson 361; Charles Woods 373 (in memory of Amanda Denson-Brady); Judith Parker 128; David Grant 421; Rita Haley 268; Paul Clark 515; Mary Brownlee 556; Richard Johnson 45t; Faye Hollis 299; Michael Spencer 191; Charlene Wallace and Abretha Watson 63; Louis King, Angela Crosby, Lauren Holliday, Clark Perry, and Harry Eskew 146; Oscar McGuire 344; Charles Grant 59; Malinda Snow 295.


A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Harry Eskew; Vice Chairman—Bentley McGuire; Secretary—Jane Spencer; Chaplain—John Hollingsworth; Arranging Committee—John Plunkett.

Leaders: Eddie Mash 434; Darlene Reynolds 569b; Wes Haley 198; Mary Palmer Lagere 532; Billy Hollingsworth 236; Lauren Harrison 282; Gene Pinion 300; Martha Harrell 178; Lee Bradley 535.


Bentley McGuire called the class back to order leading 56t. Leaders: Jane Spencer 151; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 460; Matt Hinton 569t; Reba Windom 182; Louis Hughes 270; Erica Hinton 33b; Raymond Hamrick 231; Nathan Rees 568; Shelbie Sheppard 332; Martha Almond 490; Jeff Sheppard 540; Billy Hollingsworth 28t; Martha Johnson 172; Charles Woods 110 (in memory of his favorite president, George Washington); Judith Parker 312b; David Grant 543; Faye Hollis 273 (by request); Michael Spencer 499; Gene Pinion 454; Lee Bradley 358; Eddie Mash 448t; Oscar McGuire 276 (for Sharon Hamrick); Malinda Snow 472; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 303; Nathan Rees 527; Jane Spencer 478; Lauren Harrison 503; Mary Palmer Lagere 384; Jeff Sheppard 466; Martha Almond 47b; John Simons 40.

Harry Eskew led 62 as the closing song. John Hollingsworth dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Harry Eskew; Vice Chairman—Bentley McGuire; Secretary—Jane Spencer