Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

State Line Church

Near Muscadine, Cleburne County, Alabama

Saturday, April 12, 2008

The annual Sacred Harp singing at State Line Church, just off Hwy. 78 at the Georgia/Alabama state line in Cleburne County, Alabama, was held on Saturday before the second Sunday in April. Jeff Sheppard called the class to order by leading 37b. Tom Owen offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Jeff Sheppard 73b; Rodney Ivey 503 (in memory of B.J. Harris); Judy Caudle 439; Bud Oliver 73t; Laura Densmore 102; Stanley Edwards and Marilyn Bradley 47b; Danny Arms 313t; Reba Windom 192; Louis Hughes 350; Tony Hammock 60; Jeb Owen 277; Andy Morse 209; Charles Crawford 47t; JoDell Albi 195; Floy Wilder 142; Bruce Coates 155; Chris Holley and Kathe Pilibosian 86; Matt Hinton, Egan Brown, Gordon Buford, Aaron Burwell, Jeffery Phillips, Jonathan Griffin, Richard Jackson, and Brandon Lane 448t, 448b; Marty Wootten 164.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Vice Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Arranging Committee—Bud Oliver; Secretary—Judy Caudle.


The class was brought back to order by David Ivey leading 163t. Leaders: Michael Thompson 145t; Karen Rollins 143; Kristi Harju 106; Becky Browne 168 (in memory of Jeanette Lowry); David Lee 385t; Peter Golden 163b; Pleasance Crawford 188; Loyd Ivey 204; Henry Johnson 418; Jared Wootten 283; Lonnie Rogers 225t; Tom Owen 347; Beverly Coates 377; Dave Ressler 217; John Plunkett 271b.


Rodney Ivey and Eddie Mash brought the class together leading 129. Leaders: Ed Thacker 280; Aaron Wootten 203; Jerry Creason 335; Karen Swenson 327; Robert Chambless 70t; Paul Figura 481; Donna Bell 480; Paul Lindholm 328; Karen Clark 94; Judy Chambless 100.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Helen Bryson reading from Jeremiah 29 (t? b?); verses 11 and 12. She led 365 for the following deceased: B.J. Harris, Milton Oliver, LaRue Allen, Herby Bailey, Corene Laminack, Wilton Donaldson, Jimmy Cates, Chester Lacy, and Amanda Denson—Alabama; Felton Denney, Loy Garrison, Gladys McGraw, Muriel Morgan, Homer Benefield, and Reby Stanford—Georgia; Jeanette Lowry—Missouri; Joy Swenson and Paul Gilliland—Minnesota; Pete Baker—Texas.

Cathy White spoke on behalf of the sick and shut-ins and led 542 in honor of the following: Venson Arms, Violet Thomason, Frank Block, Leland Owen, Bill Ellason, Eugene Forbes, Landis Powell, S.T. Reed, Lessie Dean Reed, Oliver Schroer, and Lee Rogers. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer offered by John Plunkett.

Leaders: Cecil Roberts 285t; Oscar McGuire 573. Cecil Roberts offered the blessing for the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Jeff Sheppard leading 177. Leaders: Charlene Wallace 287; Robert Kelly 240; Evelyn Harris and Ann Sleeva 354t; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 222; Bridgett Hill 298; Shirley Figura 176t; Bentley McGuire 95; Rene Greene 76b; Barb Ames 178; Jeannette DePoy, Jimmy Fedrick, and Jermain Henry 362; Elene Stovall 430; Richard DeLong 44; Shelbie Sheppard 269 (in memory of Jimmy Cates); Erica Hinton 133; Linda Thomas and Bud Oliver 39t; Pam Nunn 137 (in memory of Jimmy Cates); Karen Ivey 182; Eddie Mash 174; Ann Sleeva 84; Cathy White 268; Helen Bryson 411.

The financial report was given by Judy Caudle. Announcements were made.

Jeff Sheppard led 46 as the closing song. Louis Hughes offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Vice Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Secretary—Judy Caudle