Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Independence Day Singing

Lakeview Lodge, Camp Lee, Anniston, Alabama

Monday, July 4, 2011

The annual Independence Day Sacred Harp Singing was held at Camp Lee, Anniston, Alabama. Jeff Sheppard called the class to order at 9:00 a.m. by leading 37t. The morning prayer was offered by Henry Johnson.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Vice Chairman—Samuel Sommers; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Committee—Pam Nunn.

Leaders: Jeff Sheppard 123t; Samuel Sommers 358; Judy Caudle 85; Pam Nunn 155; Cecil Roberts 35; Paula Oliver 542; Judy Chambless 82t; Don Polaski 135; William Shetter 373; Margie Smith 225t; Nathan Rees 402; Jim Aaron 163b; Tom Owen 481; Myles Dakan and Jesse Krikorian 267; Sandra Polaski 148; Reed Coates 139.


Samuel Sommers led 121 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Tom George 111t; Karen Rollins 365; Robert Chambless 84; Guy Bankes 327; Jane Spencer 65; Alvaro Duarte 124; Gosia Perycz 551; Emily Hale-Sills 335; Hannah Polaski, Anna Bowen, and Holly Mixon 117; Mel Novner 556; Justyna Orlikowska 203; B.M. Smith 389 (for Lonnie Rogers); Holly Hauck 27; Rhys McGovern 384; Karen Noren and Chris Noren 410t; Bea Carnathan 568; Steve Helwig 218; Aldo Ceresa 110; Michael Walker and Pam Pilch 377.


The class was brought back together by Jeff Sheppard leading 99. Leaders: Blake Sisemore and Rachel Rudi 306; Blazej Matusiak 66; Darrell Swarens and Scot Oliver 268 (in memory of Bob Meek); Carol Munro Mosley 455; John Kelso 447; Patricia Callahan 477; Jeannette DePoy 142; Marcus Whitman 547; Liz Cantrell 298; Jesse Roberts 236; Angela Myers 472. The blessing before the noon meal was offered by Cecil Roberts.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Jeff Sheppard leading 120. Leaders: Justin Levi 562; Ben Vincent 189; Ian Quinn 280; Deidra Montgomery 380; Tom Malone 464; Oscar McGuire 344; Lindsey Wiggins 328; Joanna Lampert 318; Jonathan Smith 444; Hannah Tate and Ken Tate 145t; Reba Windom 224; Ben Bath 192; Mary Gowins 534; Lauren Bock 530; Eugene Forbes 496; Jonathon Pendleton 354b; Jenny Brown 439; Shelbie Sheppard 372; Becky Wright 396; Jo Pendleton and Dave Rivers 479; Theresa Westmoreland and Carly Westmoreland 38b; Carolyn Thompson 397; Lela Crowder 68b (for her mom); Emma Rose Brown 30b; Joan Aldridge 309; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 90; Henry Johnson 414; Robert Kelley 487; Thom Fahrbach 227; Glenda Collins and Bert Collins 45t; Dennis George 88t; Elene Stovall 430; Drew Smith and Karley Craft 101t.

Jeff Sheppard and Samuel Sommers led 323t as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Elder Jesse Roberts, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Vice Chairman—Samuel Sommers; Secretary—Judy Caudle