Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Reid Memorial

County Line Church, Corner, Alabama

Sunday, October 20, 2013

The 94th session of the Reid Memorial Sacred Harp Singing was called to order by Danny Creel leading 147t. The morning prayer was offered by Mike Hinton.

Permanent officers: Chairman—Danny Creel; Honorary Vice Chairperson—Kathleen Robbins; Acting Vice Chairman—Ken Tate; Arranging Committee—Jackie Tanner and Cindy Tanner; Secretary—Lucy Heidorn.

Leaders: Ken Tate 147b; Lucy Heidorn 186; Henry Guthery 434; Amy Smith and Loretta Smith 39t; Philip Denney 120; Margaret Thacker 73b; Linda Sides and Al Blanton 225t (for Mary Gardner); Glenn Keeton 475 (in memory of Harrison and Flarce Creel); Judy Caudle 421; Karen Rollins 317 (in memory of Teenie Moody); Darrell Swarens 36b; Cheyenne Ivey 212; Linton Ballinger 299; Marlin Beasley 318; Angela Myers 168; Jerry Kitchens 56t; Richard Mauldin 43 (in memory of Josie Hyde); Michael Thompson, Joyce Walton, and Buell Cobb 436 (in memory of Tat Bailey); Emily Brown 454.


The class was called to order by Danny Creel leading 176b. Leaders: Tim Cook 549; Yancey Jett 440; Adrian Eldridge 389; Lisa Geist 269; Tom George 314; Nicole Bowman 211; Henry Johnson 539; Elene Stovall 532 (in memory of Edith Tate); Gravis Ballinger 215; Mike Hinton 456; Julianna Jett 498; Dennis George 282; Richard Ivey 402; Ryan Bowman 159; Dylan Feezell 68b; Hannah Tate 358; Chris Ballinger 477; Linda Thomas 391.


The class was called to order by Danny Creel leading 111b. Leaders: Jackie Tanner and Cindy Tanner 101t; Nathan Rees 202; Ottis Sides and Linda Sides 530; Larry Ballinger 217; David Ivey 304 (in memory of Marie Aldridge); Ann Jett 327; Kathy Williams 455; Buell Cobb 321; Rodney Ivey 522; Faye Donaldson 430; Cassie Allen 182; Betty Baccus 89; Edie Richardson and Ken Tate 146; Seth Poston 275b. The blessing for the meal was offered by Henry Guthery.


The class was called to order by Ken Tate and Brett King leading 512. Leaders: Ainslie Allen and Amelia Jett 142, 108t; Willodean Barton 480; Joan Aldridge 300; David Heidorn and Lucy Heidorn 30t (in memory of Harrison Creel); Wanda Capps 546; SuNell Ellis 143 (in memory of Charlotte McCarn); Cindy Tanner 220.

Representing the Sacred Harp Publishing Company, Mike Hinton presented remarks regarding Harrison Creel’s long-time participation in Sacred Harp Music, and Nathan Rees read a biographical narrative written by Harrison’s family. Karen Rollins joined Mike Hinton and Nathan Rees in presenting a memorial plaque to Harrison’s children. Danny Creel, Ann Jett, Wanda Capps, and Cindy Tanner led 342.

Leaders: Darrell Swarens and Cindy Tanner 198; Adrian Eldridge 517; Ryan Bowman and Nicole Bowman 131b; Nathan Rees 485; Dylan Feezell 535; Billy Allen, Cassie Allen, and Ainslie Allen 76b; Mike Hinton 373; Karen Rollins 448t; Yancey Jett and Julianna Jett 172; SuNell Ellis, Brett King, and Seth King 340; Emily Brown 228; David Heidorn, Lucy Heidorn, and Charlene Creel 312b (in memory of Charles Creel); Rodney Ivey and Cheyenne Ivey 278t (for Toney Smith); Cassie Allen, David Heidorn, and Brett King 162 (in memory of Harrison Creel).

After announcements, Danny Creel and Ken Tate led 145t as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Henry Johnson.

Chairman—Danny Creel; Vice Chairman—Ken Tate; Secretary—Lucy Heidorn