Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Sharon Jordan Leach Memorial Singing

Rocky Mount Primitive Baptist Church, Arab, Alabama

Saturday, April 20, 2013

The annual Sharon Jordan Leach Memorial Sacred Harp Singing was held at Rocky Mount Primitive Baptist Church, Arab, Alabama, on Saturday before the third Sunday in April. Elder Matt Jordan welcomed the class, and led 63. The morning prayer was offered by Delone Cobbs.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Matt Jordan; Secretary and Arranging Officer—Judy Caudle.

Leaders: Matt Jordan 49t, 565; Judy Caudle 48t, 270 (in memory of Bud Oliver); Christopher Mann 31t, 457; David Light 318, 200; Riley-Grace Jordan 569b; James Eldridge 283, 224; Chris Green 129, 176t; Holly Jordan 47b; Jacklyn Protz 61; Delone Cobbs 354t, 480; Cheyenne Ivey 421; Cheyenne Ivey and Sandra Gibson 282.


Matt Jordan led 30b to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Scott Ivey 39t, 42 (in memory of Bud Oliver); Betsy Jordan 99; David Ivey 170 (in memory of Bud Oliver); Rebecca Eldridge 36t, 217; Reggie Murphree 30t; Geraldine Sharpton 542, 299; Dennis George 64, 268 (in memory of Sharon Jordan Leach); Buell Cobb 144, 97; Nicholas Thompson and Nancy Thompson 339, 36b; Angela Myers 133, 155. David Ivey offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Matt Jordan leading 452. Leaders: Adrian Eldridge 279; Kenneth Fannin 176b, 436; Katherine Eldridge 213t, 143; Tom George 145t, 209; J.L. Hopper 532, 376; Carol Fannin 225t, 136; Darrell Swarens 208; Darrell Swarens and Cheyenne Ivey 111b (in memory of Harrison Creel); Virginia Eldridge 86, 479; J.C. Rutledge 87, 105; Nancy Thompson and Nicholas Thompson 76t; Judy Caudle 451 (by request), 280 (by request); Rebecca Eldridge 507 (by request); James Eldridge 358 (by request); Matt Jordan and Sandra Gibson 108t; Riley-Grace Jordan and Matt Jordan 276; Matt Jordan 480 (by request), 40 (by request).

Following announcements, Matt Jordan led 146 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Elder J.L. Hopper, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Matt Jordan; Secretary—Judy Caudle