Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Sacred Harp Memorial Singing

Jones Chapel Senior Citizens Center, Cullman, Alabama

November 21, 1999

The annual Jones Chapel Sacred Harp Memorial Singing was called to order by Elvin Guthrie leading song on page 48t. Velton Chafin offered the opening prayer.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Elvin Guthrie; Vice Chairman—Travis Keeton; Secretary—Eldagene Roberson; Arranging Committee—Cecil Sanders.

Leaders: Elvin Guthrie 58t (in memory of his father, Harlie Guthrie); Mae Conwill 274t, 206; Gene Wakefield 136, 101t; Mary Alice Crisco 344b; Julie Postum 421, 145b; Pernie Pelfrey 129, 83t; Faye Donaldson 138t, 371; Amber Springfield 528, 49b; Billy Williams 231 (in memory of Charles Grant), 28b; Marie Guthrie 389, 280; Gennie Nelms 391, 441 (in memory of her father, Harlie Guthrie); Travis Keeton 432, 146 (in memory of Charles Grant).


Travis Keeton called the class to order leading song on page 73t. Leaders: Velton Chafin 130, 324 (in memory of Preston Crider); Corene White 216, 403; Larry Ballinger 123t, 119; Brenda Merritt 430, 542 (in memory of Ava Crider); Elmer Conwill 44b, 179; Josie Hyde 182, 434; John Merritt 118, 77t (in memory of Lindsey Crider); John Hyde 297, 63; Imogene Barton 290, 498; Leon Ballinger 84, 405; Eldagene Roberson 29t, 306. Glenn Keeton offered the blessing for the noon meal.


Elvin Guthrie called the afternoon session to order leading song on page 460 (in memory of Essie Calvert). Leaders: David Robeerson 100, 155, 220; Odie Horton 97, 200; Josie Hyde 234; Corene White 37b (in memory of Una B. Howard); Faye Donaldson 270; Brenda Merritt 300; Mary Jane Crisco 82 (t? b?); Eldagene Roberson 144; Imogene Barton 145t; Larry Ballinger 107; John Hyde 159; Velton Chafin 456 (in memory of Preston Crider); Eron White 384 (in memory of Una B. Howard and Douglas Howard); Velton Chafin 451.

Announcements were made. John Merritt dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Elvin Guthrie; Vice Chairman—Travis Keeton; Secretary—Eldagene Roberson.