Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Aldridge Memorial

Pleasant Hill (Johnson School House), Fayette County, Alabama

June 13, 1999

The annual Aldridge Memorial Sacred Harp Singing at Pleasant Hill (Johnson School House) was called to order by Joan Aldridge welcoming everyone and leading song on page 388. Johnnie Mac Key led the morning prayer. Joan Aldridge led song on page 82t.

The class organized for the day with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Joan Aldridge; Vice Chairperson—Elene Stovall; Secretary—Lena Keeton; Arranging Committee—Cindy Franklin.

Leaders: Paula McGray 83t, 31t; Elene Stovall 47t, 89; John Hyde 39b, 129; Gravis Ballinger 124, 101t; Ivalene Donaldson 31b, 30t; Earl Ballinger 87, 80b; Lena Keeton 111b, 475; Clarence McCool 73t, 68b; Mae Conwill 99, 100.


Coy Ivey called the class to order leading song on page 56t. Leaders: Allison Stovall 192, 373; Bud Oliver 29t, 32t; Beatrice Brewer 123t, 137; Edwin Ballinger 77t, 477; Josie Hyde 347, 363 (?); Lavaughn Ballinger 84, 405; Jackie Tanner 317, 108t; Elmer Conwilll 74b, 411 (in memory of Tom Harper); Lisa Geist 546, 151; Tim Gilmore 74t, 155; Travis Keeton 482, 318 (in memory of Fleecie Tucker and Ralston White); Cassie Franklin 503, 368.


The singing resumed with Joan Aldridge leading song on page 36b memory of Robert Aldridge and Demus Aldridge. Leaders: Coy Ivey 441; Larry Ballinger 425, 90; Shirley McCoy 217, 358, 171; A.C. McGough 454, 274t; Charlie Ballard 45t; John Beasley 72b, 63; Donna Brombach 294 (in memory of Carmen Aldridge, Edwin Campbell, Doyle Campbell, and Joe Wood); Fred Killingsworth 159; Kermit Adams 322; Cindy Franklin 335, 270, 384; Paula McGray 300; Jackie Tanner 299, 172; Bud Oliver 343b, 345t; Allison Stovall 222, 436; Tim Gilmore 186; Lena Keeton 146, “Not Made With Hands” (for Donna Brombach); Travis Keeton 434 (requested by Elene Stovall).

Joan Aldridge thanked everyone for coming and all those who brought the good lunch, and invited everyone back next year.

Announcements were made. Joan Aldridge led song on page 46 as the closing song. Lavaughn Ballinger led the closing prayer. The class was dismissed. Thanks to Willa Rush for paying for the minutes.

Chairperson—Joan Aldridge; Vice Chairperson—Elene Stovall; Secretary—Lena Keeton.