Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Emmaus Primitive Baptist Church

Carrollton, Georgia

May 2, 1999

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Emmaus Primitive Baptist Church was held the first Sunday in May. The class was called to order by Felton Denney leading song on page 72b. Lonnie Rogers led the congregation in prayer. Felton Denney led song on page 31b; Everette Denney 335, 503; Sheri Taylor 146, 148; Jimmie Denney 143, 155; and Josephine Denney 100, 145 (t? b?).

The class organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Felton Denney; Vice Chairman—Everette Denney; Secretary—Sheri Taylor; Arranging Committee—Charlene Wallace and Teenie Moody; Memorial Committee—Mary Florence Smith and Ruth Brown; Chaplain—Lonnie Rogers.

Leaders: Lonnie Rogers 141, 283; Bernard Denney 40, 46; Mary Florence Smith 106, 378 (t? b?); Don Bowen 569t, 225t; Jan House 151, 126, 191; Bobby Jackson 569b, 480.


Felton Denney brought the class to order leading song on page 68b. Leaders: Donna Duke 176b, 159; Oscar McGuire 276, 441; Judy Mincey 489, 50b; Raymond Hamrick 448b, 394; Lori Goode 435b, 120, 358; Richard DeLong 158, 513; Shelbie Sheppard 446, 367; Lloyd Toney 129, 45t.

Mary Florence Smith gave the memorial lesson with the following deceased remembered: Horace DeLong, Richard Allison, Lillian Burnetta; Florence Williams, Jim Keel, Newman Miles, and Margaret Wright. Louis Hughes led song on page 138b for the deceased. Lonnie Rogers led song on page 33b for Newman Miles who was a member of Emmaus Church.

Richard DeLong led song on page 425 for the sick and shut-ins. Mary Florence Smith led song on page 426t and concluded the memorial with prayer.


The afternoon session was called to order by Felton Denney leading song on page 47t. Leaders: Denney Rogers 318, 345 (t? b?); Marilyn Burchett 81 (t? b?), 49t; Howard McGuire 454, 192; Kenneth DeLong 316, 568; Jeff Sheppard 439, 325; Teenie Moody 391, 422; Louis Hughes 378b, 89; Dan Bailey 515, 58; Gene Duke 101t, 418; Laura Frey 47b, 29t; Becky Hafner-Camp 114, 277; Phillip Denney 178, 186; Carlene Griffin 77b, 77t; Paige Harrod and Kayla McWhorter 405, 222; Felton Denney, Caroline Denney, Ria Denney, Elizabeth Folds, and Jessica Folds 164.

Announcements were made. Felton Denney and Everette Denney led song on page 414 as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer led by Rev. Lloyd Toney.

Chairman—Felton Denney; Vice Chairman—Everette Denney; Secretary—Sheri Taylor.