Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Huntsville Sacred Harp Singing

Burritt Museum, Huntsville, Alabama

May 1, 1999

The fifteenth annual Huntsville Sacred Harp Singing was held on Saturday, May 1st in the Madison Church building on the grounds of Burritt Museum and Park. Burritt Museum is located atop Monte Sano Mountain, the second highest elevation in Alabama. David Ivey, Chairman, called the class to order leading song on page 144. Joe Jones led the morning prayer.

The class organized by selecting the following officers: Vice Chairman—David Ballinger; Secretary—Teresa Ballinger; Assistant Secretary—Amanda Ballinger; Arranging Committee—Linton Ballinger and Lomax Ballinger.

Lomax Ballinger and Linton Ballinger continued the singing by leading song on page 312b. Leaders: Doyce Bailey 100; Secretary Teresa Ballinger 147t; Vice Chairman David Ballinger 146; Gary Leopold 159; Richard Ivey 567; Mark Carroll 39t; Bill Shrader 72b; Amanda Ballinger 454; Sam Jones 81t; Lamar Smith 76b; Gene Wakefield 103; Norma Green and Nate Green 347; Hershell King 80b; Frances Jones 178; Edwin Ballinger 269; Josie Hyde 302; Gary Gronau 192; Linda Sides 480; Donald Jones 317; Cassie Franklin 300; S.T. Reed 220; Leon Ballinger 384; Karen Freund 182; Jerry Enright 77t; Shelbie Sheppard 556; Alan Jones 455; Tina Leopold 155; Jimmy Ballinger 565.


David Ballinger called the class together leading song on page 176b. Leaders: Buddy Ballinger 399b; Judy Caudle 110; Jackie Tanner 222; Mattie Townsel 143; Rich Overturf 515; Cindy Franklin 348b; Coy Ivey and Don Bowen 475, 137; Lisa Geist 272; Travis Keeton 496; Sarah Harcrow 127; Louis Hughes, Jr. 56b; Elizabeth Todd 373; Jon Gregg 77b; Eloise Clark 85; Ballinger brothers: Lavaughn, Buddy, Earl, Larry, Edwin, Lomax, Leon, Linton, and Gravis 45t; Flora Skinner 434; Mark Brown “Beulah Land”; Joe Todd 441; Jewel Wootten 225t; Dennis George 268; Debbie Hall 474; Paul Frederick 224; Lee Rogers 538; Loyd Ivey 424.


The afternoon session was called together with Rodney Ivey leading song on page 40. Leaders: Larry Ballinger 151; John Hyde 297; Linda Thomas 350; Charles Meidinger 352; Susan Harcrow 186; Sam Sommers 112; Karen Arnett 497; Max Berueffy 328; Allison Ivey 270; Jeff Sheppard 436; Elene Stovall 99; Freeman Wootten and Coy Ivey 482; Judy Mincey 464; John Bealle 442; Ruth Brown 63; David Ivey 490 (for shut-in Martha Hicks and in memory of Jim Freyder and Estelle Napier); Earl Ballinger 217; John Lamb 29t; Ricky Harcrow 145t; Tim Reynolds 203; Sarah Smith 445; Gravis Ballinger 78; Sandra Jordan 64; Buell Cobb 138t; Karen Ivey 532; David Carlton 114; Mike Thompson 236; Lydia Baswell and Vella Dailey 28b; Gary Smith 569b; Marilyn Burchett 335; Larry Olszewski 354b; David Ivey 34b (for Virgil Phillips).

Following announcements, Chairman David Ivey and Vice Chairman David Ballinger led song on page 56t, and the class was dismissed with prayer by Ricky Harcrow.

Chairman—David Ivey; Vice Chairman—David Ballinger; Secretary—Teresa Ballinger; Assistant Secretary—Amanda Ballinger.