Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

South Georgia Sacred Harp Singing Convention

Lebanon Primitive Baptist Church, near Cordele, Georgia

November 1, 1998

The seventy-ninth session of the South Georgia Singing Convention was called to order by Chairman Richard Johnson leading song on page 45 (t? b?). The opening prayer was offered by Dwaine Childers.

The following committees were appointed by the chairman: Arrangement Committee—Robert Meeks; Nominating Committee—Raymond Hamrick and Robert Meeks; Memorial Committee—Mary Brownlee and Georgia Corbin.

Richard Johnson led song on page 32t. Leaders: Rita Haley 63, 59; Georgia Corbin 340, 164; Mary Brownlee 47b, 84; Greg Holmes 145t, 81t; Sharon Hamrick 276, 460; Bob Corbin 339, 323b; Polly Hester 143, 384; Wesley Haley 34b; Jon Robinson 196, 290; Ruth Johnson 155, 405.


Leaders: Doris Haley 313t, 569b; Jack Nelson 32t, 274t; Marion Mitchell 380, 268.

Chairman Richard Johnson called for a business session. Raymond Hamrick represented the Nominating Committee, and presented a slate of officers for the coming year. Those nominated were: President—Timothy Meeks; Vice President—David Grant; Secretary/Treasurer—Rita Haley; Assistant Secretary/Treasurer—Joyce Harrison; Chaplain—John Robinson. These officers were duly elected. The new officer’s terms begin at the close of this convention.

Next in business, the singings for the coming year were reviewed and changes made. The convention asked for recognition of delegates from other singing associations. Lebanon Church was thanked for hosting this annual event. Treasurer Rita Haley presented the financial report. It was accepted as presented. The business session was then closed.


Richard Johnson opened the afternoon session leading song on page 172. Leaders: Bob Meeks 72b, 73b; Marjorie Robinson 39b, 373; Raymond Hamrick 369, 348b; Sandra Wilkinson 282, 277.

A memorial lesson was held. Georgia Corbin announced the following South Georgia shut-ins, and led song on page 120 for: Mildred Dumas, Sara Akin, Sadie Wilkinson, and Christine Robinson.

Mary Brownlee presented the list of deceased in the last year, and led song on page 163 (t? b?) for the following: Gertrude Bateman, Myretta Hardin, Larry Wilkinson, Venie Faith, Barry Wilkinson, and Lila O’Hearn. The memorial lesson was concluded.

Leaders: Otis Hester 335, 542; Patty Collins 479, 208; Opal Holloway 127, 334; Kay Robinson 129, 341; Luann Turner 147t, 515, 523; Doris Sills 354b, 40; Berta Hanson 49b, 89; Bonnie Rewis and Brittany 454, 490; David Grant 174, 546; Myrtice Meeks 491, 452; Sharon Hamrick 236. Richard Johnson closed the convention by asking for announcements of other singings. Richard Johnson led song on page 62 as the closing song. Jon Robinson offered the closing prayer.

President—Timothy Meeks; Vice President—David Grant; Secretary/Treasurer—Rita Haley.