Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Chesnut Grove Church

Ider, Alabama

October 11, 1998

The seventy-second session of the annual Chesnut Grove Sacred Harp Singing was held on the second Sunday in October. The singing was called to order by Co-Chairman David Ivey leading song on page 59. Pastor Ralph Heard led the class in prayer.

David Ivey led song on page 34t. Co-Chairman Rodney Ivey led songs on pages 101t and 39b. Leaders: Ralph Heard 348b; Loretta Smith and Amy Smith 47t; Rex Wilks 30t, 480; Billy Thompson 335; Chris Carroll 48t; Betty Wright 347; Shawn Carroll 28b, 143; Terry Wootten 388, 84; Kevin Holcomb, Derrick Holcomb, and Jacob Holcomb 87, 323b; Randall Smith 298, 300; Karen Ivey 208, 99; Vester Jones and grandsons, David Ivey and Rodney Ivey 58.


The class was called together with David Ivey leading song on page 90. Leaders: Richard Ivey 399b, 145t; Myra Dalton 384, 142; Erica Mitchell 145b; Levon Wootten 426t, 63; Linda Sides 146, 328; Marty Wootten 285t; Lamar Smith 76b, 343b; Floyd Peters 36b, 68b; Mark Brown 448t, 448b; Christy Blevins 48b; S.T. Reed 124, 125.

Pastor Ralph Heard welcomed the congregation, and Levon Wootten asked the noon blessing for lunch.


The afternoon session was called together with David Ivey leading song on page 33b. Leaders: Vickie Mitchell 147t, 361; Henry Johnson 47b, 326; Max Berueffy 42, 171; Allison Ivey 410t, 138t; Joan Aldridge 573 (Cooper), 572 (Cooper); Brenda Carroll 163t, 299; Jenny Wootten 66, 559 (Cooper); Thomas Gilbert 490, 341; Stuart Ivey 358, 137; Ricky Harcrow “Love At Home”, “Trusting”; Wayne Wootten 127, 45t; Norma Latham 317; Charlotte Heard 84 (Cooper); Coy Ivey 449 (Cooper); Susan Harcrow 408; Marlon Wootten and Eloise Wootten 376; Charles Stiefel and Terry Wootten 445; David Ivey “Jesus Died For Me”.

Mark Brown and Chris Carroll were selected as Co-Chairmen for the 1999 session. After announcements, David Ivey and Rodney Ivey led “Not Made With Hands” as the closing song, and the singing was dismissed with prayer by Pastor Ralph Heard.

Co-Chairmen—David Ivey and Rodney Ivey; Secretary—Myra Dalton.