Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Gwehelog Sacred Harp Singing

Gwehelog Methodist Chapel, Gwehelog, Wales

Saturday, July 15, 2023

The 21st annual Gwehelog Singing was held on Saturday before the third Sunday in July. The class was called to order by Steve Brett leading 101t. Teresa Maguire offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Joyce Smith 34b; Barry Parsons 201; Samuel Turner 52t; Clara Potter-Sweet 114; Al Williams 77b; Susannah Gill 355; Mandy Rose 318; Bridget McVennon-Morgan 48b (for Seth Dickens); Jessica Beer 277; Grace Scrimgeour 216 (in memory of Melanie Hauff); Toby Goss 66; Teresa Maguire 276; John Sprackland 178; Chris Coombes 72b; Nancy Novotny 411; Karen Turner 440.


The class was called to order by Al Williams leading 111b. Leaders: Anne Altringham 171; Steve Fletcher 56b; Chris Brown 447; Mika 81t; Edwin Macadam 110; Oisin Kisdon-Ireland 299; Helen Brown 422; Joe Vickers 60; Sheila Girling Macadam 186; Michael Walker 528; David Garman 133.

The sick and housebound and memorial lesson was delivered by Anne Altringham, who spoke of the importance of being free with our emotions, both in the hollow square and beyond it, and how our community is supportive of that.

The following sick and housebound list was read: Seth Dickens, Anne Rahmen, Jennifer Jones, Rosie Sokolov, Dave Elliot, Joy Spreadborough, Hannah Land, Rachael Shanahan, and Matthew Rose.

The following names of the deceased was read: David Thorpe—London; Mary Turner—Midsomer Norton; Nigel Eagle—Stanton Harcourt; Doreen Carlyle—St Annes-on-Sea; June Jaques—Lancashire; Jenny Bancroft—Ross on Wye; John Heptinstall—Kenilworth; Brigid Hurn—Byfield; Michael Keane—Bristol; Melanie Hauff and Ted Mercer—Illinois; Cheryl Foreman—Texas; Marlon Wooten, Norma Green, Juanita Beasley, and Hubert Nall—Alabama; George Burnette, Philip Denney, and Cathy White—Georgia; Lydia Lewallen—North Carolina. Anne Altringham led 448b. Bridget McVennon-Morgan offered the memorial prayer.

Leaders: Claire Welford 319; Ted Brown 566; Susannah Gill 556; Samuel Turner 340; Teresa Maguire 324; Toby Goss 547; Joyce Smith 330t. Grace was offered by Edwin Macadam.


The class was called to order by Clara Potter-Sweet leading 29t. Leaders: Mika 183; Chris Brown 475; Joe Vickers 112; Sheila Girling Macadam 302; Francis Barton and Susannah Gill 148; Nancy Novotny 200; Bridget McVennon-Morgan 426b; Ted Brown 338; John Sprackland 147t; Anne Altringham 192; Steve Brett 129; Claire Welford 208; Karen Turner 358; Edwin Macadam 332; Helen Brown 500; Grace Scrimgeour 33b; Mandy Rose 504; Chris Cobs 122; Michael Walker 213t; Jessica Beer 313t.


The class was called to order by Joyce Smith leading 144. Leaders: Steve Fletcher 481; David Garman 65; Barry Parsons 228; Oisin Kisdon-Ireland 189; Clara Potter-Sweet 268; Mika 410t; Joe Vickers 134; Edwin Macadam 466; Sheila Girling Macadam 344; John Sprackland 457; Claire Welford 214; Anne Altringham 546; Michael Walker 297; Karen Turner 467; Toby Goss 497; Teresa Maguire 378b;

Helen Brown and Ted Brown 225t; Nancy Novotny 345t.

Steve Brett made the closing remarks thanking all those involved in organising the day, including keyers, committee members, and those in the kitchen. Al Williams gave the Secretary’s report stating that of a class of forty-three registered singers, thirty-one leaders had led seventy-eight songs, and six countries were represented, (Wales, England, Scotland, Ireland, Spain, and USA).

Steve Brett led 378t as the closing song. Jessica Beer offered the closing prayer, and dismissed the class.

Chairman—Steve Brett; Vice Chairman—Joyce Smith; Secretary—Al Williams