Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Labor Day Singing

Shoal Creek Church, Cleburne County, Alabama

Monday, September 5, 2022

The 102nd session of the annual Labor Day singing was held on the first Monday in September at Shoal Creek Church in Talladega National Forest, Cleburne County, Alabama. Judy Chambless called the class to order leading 32t. Robert Chambless offered the morning prayer. Judy Chambless welcomed the visitors and singers telling them the Chairman, Cecil Roberts, could not be at the singing because of health reasons. Judy Chambless led 146. Leaders: Robert Chambless 303, 73b; Glenda Collins 101t, 76b (in honor of Cecil Roberts); Winfred Kerr 36b, 225t; Karen Rollins 34b, 35; Bert Collins 542, 339; Chris Nicholson 49t, 569b; Philip Denney 448b, 73t; Bill Dupre 39t, 276.


Robert Chambless brought the class back to order leading 235. Leaders: Oscar McGuire 171, 371; Barbara Brooks 119, 229 (in honor of Cecil Roberts); Sarah George 67, 100; Samuel Williams 345b, 399b (in honor of Cecil Roberts); Alan Jones 358, 317; Shane Brown 89, 373; Daniel Williams 201, 65; Ann Simpson 47t, 445; Chris Nicholson and Charity Vaughn 312b, 297; Daniel Williams 329 (by request), 426t; Shane Brown 111b, 138t; Alan Jones 294, 63; Samuel Williams 72b, 321. Alan Jones gave an update on the upkeep of Shoal Creek Church. He thanked the singers who always donate to the church.


Oscar McGuire brought the class back to order by leading 56t and 163b. Leaders: Winfred Kerr 122, 516; Barbara Brooks 85, 203; Bill Dupre 77t, 76b; Glenda Collins 282; Robert Chambless 84; Karen Rollins 99 (in honor of Virginia Dyer); Bert Collins 97, 142; Chris Nicholson 30b, 35. After announcements, Judy Chambless led 454 as the closing song. Daniel Williams offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—Judy Chambless; Secretary—Judy Chambless