Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Huntsville Sacred Harp Singing

Burritt On the Mountain, Huntsville, Alabama

Saturday, April 30, 2022

The annual Huntsville Sacred Harp Singing was held on Saturday before the first Sunday in May in the Old Country Church at Burritt on the Mountain, Huntsville, Alabama. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Richard Ivey leading 52t. Ron Harper offered the opening prayer. The class was organized by electing or appointing the following officers to serve: Chairman—Richard Ivey; Vice Chairman—David Ballinger; Secretaries—Amanda Hardiman and Teresa Hope; Arranging Committee—Lomax Ballinger and David Ballinger.

Leaders: David Ballinger 31b; Amanda Ballinger 30t; Lomax Ballinger 312b; Karen Rollins 87; Mark Carroll 30b; Erica Hinton 39t; Andy Ditzler (for Ed and Margaret Thacker) 532; Kate Bowman 47b; Daniel Lee 411; Teresa Hope 384; David Smead 316; Judy Chambless 318; Sam Sommers 280; Lisa Geist (for Marlon Wootten) 273; Phil Summerlin 56b; Daniel and Brittany Bearden 419; Deborah Morton 299; Barrett Patton 442; Lisa Bennett 440.


Buddy Ballinger led 119 to bring the class back together. Leaders: Ron Harper 315; Rebekah Gilmore 349; Loyd Ivey and Pam Wilkerson 283, 203; Nathan Rees 200; Garrett Morton 129; Susan Cherones 564; Hubert Nall 421; Jonathon Smith 422; Jimmy and James Ballinger 108t; Rachel Green 107; David Killingsworth and Brenda Armstrong 49b; Anna Hinton 142; Earl Ballinger 392; Matt Bell 294. The memorial lesson was conducted by Nicholas Thompson. In memory of the deceased and to remember the sick and shut-ins, he called each name and led 312t. Sam Sommers closed the memorial lesson with prayer.


Rodney Ivey led 111t to bring the class back together. Leaders: Linton Ballinger 300; David Brodeur 528; Stefani Priskos 89; Robert Chambless 84; Butch White 547; Nate Green and Norma Green 418; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 345b; Lori Rodgers 99; Larry Ballinger 224; Robert Walker 145b; Zena Tucker 47t; Matt Hinton 27; David Carlton 538; Richard Ivey 37b. Barrett Patton offered the prayer before the noon meal. The class sang 155 in the lunch pavilion.


The afternoon session began with Everett Ivey and Lucy Karlsberg leading 146. Leaders: Lauren Bock 362; Dennis George 527; Nicholas Thompson 436; Vella Dailey 34b; Jesse Latimer 328; Deborah Taube 276; Logan Green 192; Reba Windom and Shelby Castillo 216, 456; Scott Ivey 42; Tammy Heinsohn 178; Leanne Carter 72b; Dalton Green 186; Judy Mincey 475 (in memory of Virgil Phillips); David Ivey 272; Linda Thomas 217; Linda Booth 454; Robert Green 480.

Following announcements, Richard Ivey led 46 as the closing song. Ron Harper offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Richard Ivey; Vice Chairman—David Ballinger; Secretaries—Amanda Hardiman and Teresa Hope