Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Albright, Cates, Brown, and Sheppard Memorial

State Line Church, Cleburne County, Alabama

Sunday, October 11, 2020

The annual Albright, Cates, Brown, and Sheppard Memorial Sacred Harp singing was held at State Line Church, Cleburne County, Alabama, on the second Sunday in October. The class was called to order by Cecil Roberts, who offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Rene Greene 32t, 318 (in memory of B.J. Harris); Cecil Roberts 49t, 49b; Glenda Collins 81t, 105; Donna Bell 135 (in memory of Teenie Moody), 426b; Shane Brown 114, 373; Daniel Williams 432, 47b; Winfred Kerr 225t, 133; Philip Denney 120, 448b; Virginia Dyer 340, 84.


Rene Greene led 142 to bring the class back to order. A business session was held and the same officers were retained as follows: Chairman—Rene Greene; Vice Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Secretary—Glenda Collins. Leaders: Tom George 99, 88t; Oscar McGuire 146, 420 (in memory of Bentley McGuire); Amber Davis 73t, 36b; Barbara Brooks 235, 34b; Bert Collins 35, 542; Samuel Williams 551, 569b; Sarah George 108b, 113; Cecil Roberts 48t, 56t.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Rene Greene and Oscar McGuire. They led 454 in memory of the deceased and in honor of the sick and shut-ins. The deceased listed were Bentley McGuire, Rozlyn Greene, Richard DeLong, Charlene Wallace, Mildred Patterson, Ruth Daniel, Bill Beverly, David Grant, Robby Rivers, Velton Chafin, Ottis Sides, and Bill Windom. The sick and shut-ins listed were Lucy Garner and Ozella Blackmon. Shane Brown asked a blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Rene Greene leading 171. Leaders: Philip Denney 61; Winfred Kerr 314; Oscar McGuire 336; Amber Davis 224; Tom George and Sarah George 157; Glenda Collins 63; Samuel Williams 550; Shane Brown 228; Daniel Williams 328; Bert Collins 399b.

Rene Greene led 269 as the closing song. Philip Denney offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Rene Greene; Vice Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Secretary—Glenda Collins