Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Baylor University Sacred Harp Singing

George W. Truett Theological Seminary, Waco, Texas

Saturday, February 8, 2020

The 18th annual Baylor Sacred Harp Singing was held in the Great Hall of the George W. Truett Theological Seminary on the Baylor University campus in Waco, Texas. Donald Ross gave a few introductory remarks about Sacred Harp and taught a singing school prior to the start of singing. Donald Ross then called the class together leading 59. Dr. David Music offered the opening prayer. The following officers were appointed: Chairman—Dr. David Music; Secretary—Diane Ross.

Leaders: Diane Ross 454; Robert Vaughn 164; Linda Booker 75; Jerry Ryan 274t; Jim Lazenby 361; Matt Arnold 155; Janie Short 312b; Hardy Davis 320; Isaac Arterburn 334; Tammy Powell 503; Lauren Crandon 89; Emily Brown 532; Dr. Gayle Avant 30t; Kate Agnew 110; Beverly Coates 130; Vickie Cook 150; Dr. Randall Bradley 354b.


Dr. David Music led 99 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Bruce Coates 313b; LuAnn Thomas 32t; Ben McGee 167; Kristie Powell 65; Lucy Murphy 36b; Gaylon Powell 113; Danielle McIntosh 570; Chase Douthit 146; Ryan Lewis 133; Kyle Hearn 39t; Cheyenne Ivey 542; Carter Cook 148; Chris Nicholson and Charity Vaughn 212; Donald Ross 183; Diane Ross 40; Robert Vaughn 39b; Linda Booker 490; Donald Ross 128 (for Dr. David Music in memory of Dr. William J. Reynolds). Announcements were made. Dr. Gayle Avant offered the blessing prior to the meal.


Donald Ross led 489 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Jerry Ryan 145t; Jim Lazenby 358; Matt Arnold 365; Janie Short 228; Tammy Powell 472; Erin Fulton 271b; Emily Brown 349; Chase Douthit 455; Dr. Gayle Avant 111b; Kate Agnew 448b; Beverly Coates 330t; Vickie Cook 191; Bruce Coates 515; Kristie Powell 33b; Lucy Murphy 178; Gaylon Powell 330b; Ryan Lewis 122; Carter Cook 142; Chris Nicholson 473; Cheyenne Ivey 182; Erin Fulton 160b; Chase Douthit 143; Kate Agnew 168; Emily Brown 456; Tammy Powell 163b; Robert Vaughn 108t; Gaylon Powell 108b; Lucy Murphy 85; Matt Arnold 497; Chris Nicholson and Charity Vaughn 213t; Cheyenne Ivey 176b; Beverly Coates 68b. Donald Ross acknowledged Dr. Music’s upcoming retirement from teaching at Baylor and thanked him for his leadership in promoting this singing.

Dr. David Music dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Dr. David Music; Secretary—Diane Ross