Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Harpeth Valley-Priestley Miller Memorial Singing

Free Will Baptist Bible College, Nashville, Tennessee

April 18, 1998

The thirty-seventh annual Harpeth Valley-Priestley Miller Memorial Sacred Harp Singing was called to order at 9:30 a.m. on the first Saturday after Easter by Tim Reynolds leading song on page 73b. The morning prayer was given by Gordon Wilkinson. Tim Reynolds led song on page 159. Leaders: Clayton Ezell 300, 480; David Carlton 133, 81t; Sandie Scott 128, 40; Gordon Wilkinson 436, 112; Darrell Holley 354b, 59; John Giles 236, 380; Norma Latham 56t, 565; Hugh McGraw 572, 573.


The class was brought back to order by Tim Reynolds and Angela Lepkofker leading songs on pages 84 and 85.

Tim Reynolds held a memorial lesson for Mrs. Beatrice Ezell who passed away the previous December (1997). She had been an active singer in Lawrence County, and later in Nashville, her whole life, and had passed the tradition on to her children. Two of her children (Clayton Ezell and Kerene Ezell Box), one of her grandchildren (Melanie Box Hardy), and three of her great-grandchildren (Tiffany Hardy, Rebecca Box, and Nakayah Box) participated in this singing.

The class then went into a business session with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairman—David Carlton; Vice Chairman—Darrell Holley; Secretary—Marilyn Burchett; Arranging Committee—Sandie Scott and Henry Cobb; Chaplain—Hibbard Thatcher.

Leaders: Henry Cobb and David Carlton 418; Michele Cull 66, 209; Steve Shearon 213t, 64; Glen Wegge 34b, 68b; Marilyn Burchett 68t, 294; Jon Gregg 155, 208; Angela Crain and David Carlton 89; Hibbard Thatcher 147t, 178.


David Carlton brought the class to order by leading song on page 63. Leaders: Melanie Hardy 143, 491; Tiffany Hardy, Nakayah Box, and Rebecca Box 146, 106; Sandie Scott and Dewey Cooksey 75, 405; Kerene Box 335, 28b; Tim Reynolds 107; Clayton Ezell 278t; Darrell Holley 127; Sandie Scott 117; Jon Giles 192; Gordon Wilkinson 100; Henry Cobb 49t; Glen Wegge 72b; Michele Cull 551; Norma Latham 61; Steve Shearon 114; Hibbard Thatcher 49b; Jon Gregg 189. Announcements were made. David Carlton led song on page 36b for the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer by Hibbard Thatcher.

Chairman—David Carlton; Vice Chairman—Darrell Holley; Secretary—Marilyn Burchett.