Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Gwehelog Singing

Gwehelog Methodist Church, near Usk, Wales, United Kingdom

Saturday, July 20, 2019

The 20th annual Gwehelog Sacred Harp singing was called to order by Bridget McVennon-Morgan leading 42. Amy Cutts offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Matthew Parkinson 32t; Charlie Williams 30t; Samuel Turner 73t; Emma Hooper 129; Alec Williams 335; Leilai Immel-Parkinson 48t; Joss Tait 275t; Werner Ullah 531; Sheila Girling Macadam 101b; Richard Mayers 102; Teresa Maguire 30b; Nick Hall 143; Amy Cutts 72b; George Simms 187; Karen Turner 163t.


Meg Winter called the class to order leading 101t. Leaders: Rich Thorne 204; Edwin Macadam 171; Rachel Wemyss 284; Barry Parsons 99; Caroline Ungoed-Thomas and Sheila Girling Macadam 162; Ian West 313t; Chris Brown 480; Joyce Smith 322; Chris Cotter 103; Stacy Hackner 148.

Ted Brown and Helen Brown conducted the memorial lesson. The following sick and housebound were named: Peter Grant, John Hopkinson, Louis Hughes, Curtis Owen, Sonny Erwin, Olivia Powell, Kevin Powell, Charlene Wallace, Dave Richardson, Cath Tyler, and Melanie Hauff. The following deceased were remembered: John Marsh—Weeley; Michael Ridge—London; Dennis Lingwood—Ledbury; Roberto Cavallar—Italy; Bob Patten—Morchard Bishop; Roger Bullen—Cropredy; Bill Steel—Bolton; Carolyn Williams—Keighley; Susan Carr—Leeds; Eugene Forbes—Alabama, USA; Paul Wilson—Minnesota, USA; Rev. Michael Pain—Dorchester; Heather Simms—Leeds; Jackie Bishop—Lewes; Trevor Brooker—Lewes; Ann Bachelor—Lewes; Elspeth Murray—Paisley; Ellen Moxley—Lochinver; John Hayto—Leicester. Ted Brown led 566 for all the above named, and Helen Brown closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Judy Whiting 43; Mary Helen Dupree 274b; Florine Vieilly-Eymard 150; Helen Brown 542; Frédéric Eymard 351; Rachel Jordan 564; Samuel Turner 104; Alec Williams 85; Amy Cutts 280; Charlie Williams 474. Leilai Immel-Parkinson offered the prayer before the midday meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Leilai Immel-Parkinson leading 290. Leaders: Emma Hooper 344; Chris Brown 392; Joss Tait 105; Ted Brown 422; Mary Helen Dupree 506; George Simms 406; Edwin Macadam 538; Florine Vieilly-Eymard 228; Sheila Girling Macadam 193; Samuel Turner 569b; Nick Hall 475; Frédéric Eymard 114; Chris Cotter 215; Judy Whiting 466; Richard Mayers 198; Stacy Hackner 442; Rachel Jordan 217; Ian West 492.


Barry Parsons called the class to order leading 26. Leaders: Rich Thorne 179; Caroline Ungoed-Thomas and Alec Williams 178; Werner Ullah 29t; Karen Turner 66; Teresa Maguire 444; Joyce Smith 271t; Matthew Parkinson 426b; Helen Brown 436; Meg Winter 37b; Chris Cotter 477; Florine Vieilly-Eymard 230; Mary Helen Dupree 303; Frédéric Eymard 176t; Sheila Girling Macadam and Edwin Macadam 299; Judy Whiting and Chris Brown 34b; Rachel Jordan and Nick Hall 155; Ted Brown and Helen Brown 546; Ian West 384; Karen Turner 189; Richard Mayers 504. Bridget McVennon-Morgan led 323t as the closing song. Edwin Macadam offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Co-Chairmen—Bridget McVennon-Morgan and Matthew Parkinson; Secretary—Barry Parsons