Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Antioch Baptist Church Singing

Ider, Alabama

Sunday, April 14, 2019

The annual Sacred Harp singing was held at Antioch Baptist Church on the second Sunday in April. The class was called to order by Shane Wootten and Jared Wootten leading 82t. Jeffrey Wootten offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Shane Wootten and Jared Wootten 31b, 65; Daniel Lee 101b; Tony Schrader 68b; Nate Green and Norma Green 418; Shane Brown 67; Susan Pilcher, Stacy Pilcher, and Venita Wootten 196; Colby Brown, Kennedy Brown, and Lane Brown 31t; David Saylors and Sierra Saylors 203; Mark Carroll 30b; Susan Cherones 349; Theresa Saylors and Sierra Saylors 209; Cole Wootten 283; Brenda Carroll 299; Samuel Williams 163t.


Terry Wootten led 176t to bring the class together. Leaders: Shelby Castillo, Reba Windom, and James Castillo 142; David Killingsworth 445; Claudene Townson, Phil Townson, Danette Townson, Cole Farrow, Raven Farrow, Dani Townson, Caleb Henshaw, Logan Townson, Chase Townson, Heath Townson, Tiffany Townson, Cash Townson, and Sophie Townson 448t, 28b; Cheyenne Ivey and Everett Ivey 182; Mel Kersey and friend 565; Rebecca Over 207; Scott Ivey 201; David Ivey and Everett Ivey 56b; Aaron Wootten and Sarah Wootten 63; Chris Boggs, Michelle Boggs, Elijah Boggs, Clayton Boggs, Isaac Boggs, and Joseph Boggs 2 (church hymnal).


The class was brought back together by Jared Wootten leading 56t. Jamey Wootten led 129. Shane Wootten conducted the memorial lesson. He spoke and read the following list of names of the sick and shut-ins: Charlene Wallace, Ottis Sides, Velton Chafin, Katherine Thompson, Dewayne Wootten, Sonny Erwin, and Cleva Dell Blevins.

Shane spoke and read the following list of names of the deceased: Willodean Barton, Mike Jones, Ed Coker, Louise Killingsworth, Elaine Ivey, Doug Conn, Glenda Hopper, and Eugene Forbes—Alabama; Paul Wilson—Minnesota; Rodney Willard and Barbara Willard—Arizona. Shane Wootten and Phil Summerlin led 475. Phil Summerlin closed the memorial service with prayer.

Leaders: Hayden Wootten 321; Jenny Mann 36b; Raven Farrow and Cole Farrow 540 (CB); Dani Townson and Danette Townson 171; Macey Bell 496; Tim Gregg 96; Daniel Williams 333; Katherine Eldridge 273; Richard Ivey and Everett Ivey 131b. David Lee asked a blessing at the table before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Shane Wootten leading 89. Leaders: Phil Summerlin and Jeffrey Wootten 460; David Lee 39t; Virginia Eldridge 153; Rodney Ivey 426t; Anna Wootten and Shane Wootten 318 (in memory of Eloise Wootten); Winfred Kerr 516; Catherine Brown 313b; Linda Thomas 123t; Ronda Arnold 559 (CB); Amy Wootten, Virginia Glass, and Tony Schrader 48t, 74b; Terry Wootten, Aaron Wootten, Sarah Wootten, Jenny Mann, Britt Mann, Kaylee Mann, Karolina Mann, Karlie Mann, Sheila Wootten “Where the Soul Never Dies”, “Pass Me Not”; Jimmy Haynes and Shane Wootten 128; Sandy Ivey 421; Marty Wootten 441; Betty Wootten and Jerry Wootten 39b; Rodney Ivey and David Ivey 384 (for Coy Ivey); Kathy Lee 42; Scott Ivey 532 (by request). Announcements were made. The co-chairmen for 2020 will be Marty Wootten and Terry Wootten.

Shane Wootten and Jared Wootten led 146 as the closing song. Shane Brown offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Co-chairmen—Shane Wootten and Jared Wootten; Secretary—Cheyenne Ivey