Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

New Year’s Day Singing

Holy Trinity Church, Mapperley, Derbyshire, United Kingdom

Tuesday, January 1, 2019

The class was called to order by Helen Brown leading 52t. Rosalind Oldham offered the opening prayer.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Helen Brown; Vice Chairman—Ted Brown; Secretary—Margaret Gillanders; Arranging Committee—Judy Whiting and Chris Brown.

Leaders: Helen Brown 30t (CB); Chris Brown 77t; Joe Vickers 52b; Rosalind Oldham 84; Ian West 135; Sam Carter 213t; Eimear O’Donovan 56t; Hannah Land 57; Richard Mayers 213b; Jacoba Bruneel 73t; George Simms 227; Ted Brown 113 (CB); Vicki Elliott 99; Richard Percival 587 (CB); Kate Kirwan 274b; Thomas Sprackland 499; Matthew Parkinson 92; Kevin Beirne 410b; Leilai Immel-Parkinson 274t; Calum Woods 348b; Joe Vickers 348t; Chris Brown 354t; Sam Carter 76b; Vicki Elliott 171. Grace for the mid-day meal was offered by Jonathan Stanyon.


Judy Whiting called the class back together by leading 441. Leaders: Calum Woods 448 (CB); Kevin Beirne 392 (CB); Hannah Land 98 (CB); Thomas Sprackland 82t; Richard Mayers 189; Eimear O’Donovan 552 (CB); Matthew Parkinson 564; Jacoba Bruneel 411; Ian West 142; Rosalind Oldham 575 (CB); George Simms 373; Julie Russell 34b; Rosalind Woods 127; Richard Percival 535; Vicki Elliott 112; Ted Brown 566.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Joe Vickers. The following sick and housebound were named: Curtis Owen, Melanie Hauff, John Hopkinson, Derek Winstanley, David Elliott, Faith Anderson, Stephen Callis, Jean McDougall, Jessie Thornley, Rozlyn Greene, and Karen Turner. The following deceased were remembered and honored: Darrell Swarens, Steve Helwig, Rollo Woods, Harry Cowking, Stuart Tanner, Louise Holland, Janet Winstanley, Glenda Hopper, Barbara Willard, Rodney Willard, Steve Harrison, Susan Carr, Rev Michael Pain, Greg Hodnett, Bob Patten, Caroline Williams, Ray Stickley, Pat Stickley, Olive, John Hayto, Marvis Barratt, Ruth Ayers, Peter Golding, Joyce Farrell, Doug Webb, and Dick Levine. Joe Vickers led 496 (CB) for all the above named and closed the memorial service with prayer.

Leaders: Kate Kirwan 426t; Sam Carter 571 (CB).


Richard Mayers called the class back together by leading 505 (CB). Leaders: Kevin Beirne 546; Judy Whiting 472; Thomas Sprackland 425; Calum Woods 511b (CB); Julie Russell 155; Matthew Parkinson 492 (CB); Jacoba Bruneel 210 (CB); George Simms 105; Kate Kirwan 556; Richard Percival 361; Eimear O’Donovan 272; Ted Brown 283 (CB); Hannah Land 465 (CB); Chris Brown 95b (CB); Rosalind Oldham 559 (CB); Vicki Elliott 569b.

Helen Brown led 347 as the closing song. John Baldini dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Helen Brown; Vice Chairman—Ted Brown; Secretary—Margaret Gillanders