Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Chmielno to Warszawa Bus Singing


Friday, September 21, 2018

The campers leave Camp FaSoLa Europe, and board the bus at 9:45 a.m. for the 4th biennial Chmielno to Warszawa bus trip and singing. There were sixty-eight singers present. The top deck of the coach is where the singing will happen. Our captain, Justyna Orlikowska, announces the itinerary. A few minutes after departure, Jan Geerts proposes to open a business meeting, and Steve Brett seconds. The following officers were elected: Chairman—Claire Welford; Secretary—Philippe Doyle Gosselin; Resolutions—Lauren Bock; Chaplain—Teresa Maguire; Treasurers—Karen Ivey and David Ivey. No arranging committee was appointed; the singers were called to lead a song in order of seats, from the front to the back. The business meeting was closed.

The 4th biennial Camp Fasola Europe Bus Convention was called to order by Claire Welford, welcoming the singers aboard the bus and kindly reminding everyone to stay seated while leading, for safety. She led 37b. Teresa Maguire offers the opening prayer.

Leaders: Judy Whiting 171; Chris Brown 146; Teresa Maguire 102; Laurie Burk 551; Marta Kaczorowska 274t; Lissi Schallwig 539; Jan Geerts 31b; Helen Peake 317; Rachel Wemyss 35; Mali Dray 288; Jared Pope 59; Joyce Smith 312b; George Simms 67; Martha Beverly 368; Josh Lant 564; Steve Brett 394; Philippe Doyle-Gosselin 227; Aldo Ceresa 177; Inga Huebner 56b.


Derek Buckland called the class back to order leading 277. Leaders : Camilla Maria Widholm 212; Amanda Parkes 348b; Eva Striebeck 350; Caro Stamm-Reusch 445; Tom McTighe 131b; Eimear O’Donovan 176t; Lauren Bock 155; Sue Peters 515; Ailish McMahon 111b; Lloy Cook 38t; Jeannette DePoy 89; Richard Schmeidler 334; Rosalind Oldham 66; Vicki Elliott 217; Claire Welford 270; Kate Fine 369; Samuel Sommers 213t.


At 2:12 p.m., all singers are back on the bus. The Chairman calls for an hour break; Tom McTighe seconds; all agree. Johannes Sauer calls the class back to order, after nap time, leading 321. Leaders : Hyke Sakaras 401; Katie Ahern 338; Andy Ditzler 229; Betsy Jeronen 225t; Kerry Cullinan 71; Judy Whiting 82t; Chris Brown 28b; Teresa Maguire 77t; Jared Pope 159; Marta Kaczorowska 87; Lissi Schallwig 497; Jan Geerts 32b; Joyce Smith 457; George Simms 569b; Martha Beverly 208; Josh Lant 318; Steve Brett 232; Oskar Kvasnes 388; Aldo Ceresa 399t; Derek Buckland 68t; Ingrid Raedergard 128; Camilla Maria Widholm 426t.

The class went into business meeting. The Secretary gave a report stating that sixty-one songs were led by forty-three leaders from seven countries. The Treasurers dutifully collected donations for the venue, and expenses were met. The Resolutions Committee submitted the following statement : We, the singers of the fourth biennial Chmielno—Skepe—Warszawa singing resolve to thank God for once again granting us traveling mercies, and the gift of song and friendship as we journey from Camp Fasola to the Poland Convention. Furthermore, we extend our heartfelt appreciation to Justyna Orlikowska for organizing, translating, and starting her announcements with familiar shape-note riffs. We further resolve to thank Teresa Maguire for her prayers, Philippe Doyle-Gosselin for taking minutes, Jan Geerts and Claire Welford for generally presiding, the key heisters for their keying, and Steve Brett for acting as tempo ambassador. Thank you to the class of travellers who fought the forces of physics and frustration to keep the singing going. Lastly, we’d like to thank the bus driver for listening to us and making that multi-point turn as we left camp. We resolve to meet on a bus again on Friday before the fourth Sunday in September, 2020 for the fifth Chmielno—Warszawa singing.

After thanking singers for partaking in the 4th Biennial Bus Convention from Chmielno to Warszawa, Claire Welford lead 347 to close the singing. Teresa Maguire offered a closing prayer, and the class was dismissed as we entered Warsaw at 5:15 p.m.

Chairman—Claire Welford; Secretary—Philippe Doyle-Gosselin