Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

State University of West Georgia

Food Services Building, Carrollton, Georgia

January 4, 1998

The annual all day Sacred Harp singing was held the first Sunday in January at the Food Services Building, State University of West Georgia. Myron House called the class together leading song on page 59. Billy Joe Harris led the morning prayer. Myron House led song on page 90, followed by B. M. Smith 225t (for Lonnie Rogers), 284; Charlene Wallace 276, 436 (for Revy Williamson).

Officers elected or appointed for the day were: Chairman—Myron House; Vice Chairman—B. M. Smith; Secretary—Charlene Wallace; Arranging Committee—Mary F. Smith; Memorial Committee—Ruth Brown and Shelbie Sheppard.

Myron House led song on page 135. Leaders: Carlene Griffin 37b, 122; Jimmy Cates 112, 137; Everette Denney 34b, 63; Evelyn Harris 155, 159; Phillip Langley 300, 217.


The class was called to order by B. M. Smith leading song on page 123 (t? b?). Leaders: Karen Rollins 143, 489; Louis Hughes, Jr. 49b, 91; Shelbie Sheppard 556, 151; Roy Nelson 283, 456; Felton Denney 231, 503; Jan House and friends 40, 45t; Catherine Oss 345 (t? b?), 340; Tom McGraw 268, 126; Lisa Webb 178, 269.


The afternoon session resumed with Myron House leading song on page 166, and Billy Joe Harris leading songs on pages 303 and 77b.

The memorial lesson was held. Louis Hughes, Sr. led song on page 73 (t? b?) in memory of: Willie Mae McClendon, Josie McAlpin, Gertrude Bateman, Arnold Edwards, John Forman, and Janet Rogers.

For the sick and shut-ins, Louis Hughes, Jr. led song on page 229. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer by Louis Hughes, Sr.

Leaders: Jeff Sheppard 439, 392; Judy Mincey 474, 475; Tim Cook 299, 28b; Laura Clawson 228, 367; Jimmie Denney 61, 68b; Sheri Taylor 29t, 163b (for Laura Webb).


The class resumed singing with B. M. Smith leading song on page 30b. Leaders: Don Bowen 347, 570 (for Lee Rogers); Martha Ann Stegar 504, 479; John Redmon 198, 146; Josephine Denney 32t, 101t; Adrianne Bonham 441, 72b; Nancy Allen 73b; Earlis McGraw 76b, 425; Louis Hughes, Sr. 288; Bobby Jackson 512.

Announcements were made. Myron House and B. M. Smith led song on page 323 (t? b?) for the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer by Felton Denney.

Chairman—Myron House; Vice Chairman—B. M. Smith; Secretary—Charlene Wallace.