Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

The Agnes Roberts Memorial Sacred Harp Singing
(Formerly Augusta Sacred Harp Singing)

Augusta Old Line Primitive Baptist Church, Martinez, Georgia

Saturday, May 5, 2018

The 9th annual Augusta Sacred Harp Singing was held at Augusta Old Line Primitive Baptist Church, Martinez, Georgia, on Saturday before the first Sunday in May. Gene Pinion began the meeting with a singing school at 9:15 a.m. After the presentation, Richard Noegel called the class to order at 10:00 a.m., and welcomed everyone. After a moment of silence, Richard Noegel offered prayer, and the class sang 178. Leaders: Chandler Thigpen 59; Gene Pinion “Agnes Song” (written in memory of Agnes Roberts); Richard Noegel 163b; Joyce Heath 164; John Gentry 84; Robert Kelley 64; Rob Dylan 313b; Stephen Jones 123b; John Plunkett 544.


Gene Pinion brought the class back to order by leading 133. Chandler Thigpen led 294. The class entered into a business session at 11:00 a.m., and approved a resolution to rename the singing to The Agnes Roberts Memorial Sacred Harp Singing. Also adopted was a resolution to express gratitude to Old Line Primitive Baptist Church for its support and hospitality over the last nine years. Singing resumed at 11:15 a.m.

Leaders: Joyce Heath 127; John Gentry 32t; Robert Kelley 186; Rob Dylan 47t; Stephen Jones 52b; John Plunkett 33b; Richard Noegel 122; Gene Pinion 79; Brock Daniels 40; Chandler Thigpen 162; Joyce Heath 123t; John Gentry 274t; Robert Kelley 29b; Rob Dylan 475; Stephen Jones 29t; John Plunkett 378t; Gene Pinion 276.


Richard Noegel called the class back to order at 1:10 p.m. Leaders: Gene Pinion 551; Chandler Thigpen 358; Joyce Heath 212; John Gentry 102; Robert Kelley 89; Rob Dylan 159; Stephen Jones 268; John Plunkett 47b; Gene Pinion 38b; Richard Noegel 231; Chandler Thigpen 242; Joyce Heath 143; John Gentry 282; Robert Kelley 72b; Rob Dylan 171; Stephen Jones 146; John Plunkett 26; Gene Pinion 97; Chandler Thigpen 354t; Richard Noegel 38t; Joyce Heath 36b; John Gentry 503; Robert Kelley 313t; Rob Dylan 45t; Stephen Jones 254; John Gentry 312b; Robert Kelley 147t; Gene Pinion 148; Joyce Heath 228.

Announcements were made. Richard Noegel thanked all who attended and helped with this year’s singing, and led 63 as the closing song. John Gentry offered the closing prayer. The class was dismissed.

Chairman—Richard Noegel; Vice Chairman—Chandler Thigpen; Secretary—Diane Goldman and Chandler Thigpen