Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Iowa Singing

St. John’s Lutheran Church, Des Moines, Iowa

Saturday, March 24, 2018

The 17th annual Iowa All-Day Singing was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Eric Saylor leading 59. Michael Moore offered the opening prayer. Leaders: Barb Patterson 72b; Michael Moore 40; Carolyn Thompson and Emily Thompson 128; Laura Krossner 105; Jenny Solheim 377; Rachael Demaree 479; Paul Landskroener 448t; James Solheim 299; Dick Patterson 313b; Carolyn Thompson 500.


Eric Saylor called the class together leading 146. Leaders: Paul Landskroener 472; Jenny Solheim 352; Dick Patterson 66; Michael Moore 215; Barb Patterson 34b; Carolyn Thompson 442; Cecil Cook 47t; Laura Krossner 163b; Rachael Demaree 178; James Solheim 270.


Eric Saylor called the class together leading 86. Michael Moore directed the memorial lesson. Dick Patterson led 272 for the following sick and shut-ins: Paul Wilson, Christine Stevens, Jonathon Martin, Ben Crawford, and Sharla Hulsey.

Barb Patterson led 37t to remember the following deceased: Hugh McGraw—Georgia; Darrell Swarens—Indiana; Charles Wells—Minnesota; Julie Vea—Wisconsin; Lois Johnson and Kathryn Moore—Iowa; Jon Pearson—Nebraska; and Lawrence Howard—Pennsylvania. Eric Saylor led 369, followed by a blessing from Michael Moore before the meal break.


Eric Saylor called the class back to order leading 551. Leaders: Cecil Cook 282; Paul Landskroener 76b; Carolyn Thompson 278t; James Solheim “Kyrkjebøbakken”; Alex Tillinghast 159; Barb Patterson 480; Laura Krossner 535; Jenny Solheim “Pine”; Beth Ann Edwards 236; Michael Moore 218; Emily Thompson 392; Dick Patterson 315; Eric Saylor 117.


Eric Saylor led 155 to call the class back together followed by 441. Leaders: Laura Krossner 268, 361; Barb Patterson 29t, 88t; James Solheim “Dragon”; Beth Ann Edwards 84; Dick Patterson 230, 179; Donnie Simmet 532, 68t; Cecil Cook 30b, 401; Jenny Solheim 168, 187; Michael Moore 349, 228; Alex Tillinghast 47t, 457; Paul Landskroener 540, 569t.


Eric Saylor called the class to order by leading 74b. Announcements were made. Eric Saylor led 347 as the closing song. Michael Moore offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed at 3:30 p.m.

Chairman—Eric Saylor; Secretary—Kaitlyn Aberson