Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

James River Convention

Historic St. John’s Church, Richmond, Virginia

Saturday, November 11, 2017

The 26th annual James River Convention was held on Saturday before the second Sunday in November in the parish hall of St. John’s Church in Richmond, Virginia. The class was welcomed by Matt Ference leading 31t. The opening prayer was offered by Les Updike.

A business session was held, and the following officers were elected or appointed: Chairman—Adrienne Robertson; Vice Chairman—Bridget Camden; Treasurer—Jeremy Wacksman; Secretary—Mary Wright; Arranging Committee—Stephen McMaster.

Leaders: Adrienne Robertson 59; Bridget Camden 191; Les Updike 503; Mary Wright 35; Pat Temple 232; Chris Wolf 48b; Jim Strube 49b; Leyland delRe 266; Sharon Strong 111b; Derek Lane 48t; Kathy Manning 189; Mary Helen Dupree 58.


The class resumed singing with Ateven Snderson leading 162. Leaders: Mary DeNys 163t; John Fedderson 513; Tom Ivey 472; John delRe 436; Lynda Hambourger 448t; Kelly Macklin 473; Richard Green 29t; Miranda Elliot Rader 495.

The memorial lesson was directed by John Alexander and Diane Ober, who led 566 and 38b for the following sick and shut-ins: Tyler Magill, Patty Schott, Hilda Collins, Elaine Fedderson, and Alina Hedberg.

The following deceased were remembered: Herb Watson, Wayne Moss, and Polly Ward—Virginia; Charles D. Calhoun—Mexico; Charles Bennett—Missouri; Twyla Arnett—Arkansas; Elaine Fields—Texas; Alan Peterson and Hugh McGraw—Georgia; Francis Duncan and Stephanie Wolf—Maryland; John Bayer, Jr.—Ohio.

The class resumed singing with Miranda Elliot Rader leading 207. Leaders: Hank Schutz 86; Chloe Somers 117; Robin Betz 335; Ashton Rodgers 139; Fay Hughes 148; Clare Chapin 486; Susan Green 171; Tristan Cleveland 274t; John Alexander 317; Chris Wolf and Suzanne Sanford 383; Jim Strube 198; Lynda Hambourger 200; Leyland delRe and Ben Hartland 118; Elizabeth Betz 354b. Les Updike offered a blessing before the noon meal.


The class resumed singing with Chris Wolf leading 432 (ShH). Leaders: Bridget Camden 60b (ShH); Les Updike 296 (ShH); Mary Wright 158b (ShH); Pat Temple 146 (ShH); Matt Ference 200 (ShH); Adrienne Robertson 169 (ShH); Ateven Snderson 288b (ShH); Ben Hartland 137 (ShH); Chris Wolf 364t (ShH); Jim Strube 254 (ShH); Sharon Strong 114 (ShH); Derek Lane 246b (ShH); Kathy Manning 431 (ShH); Mary Helen Dupree 266 (ShH); Leyland delRe 191 (ShH); Mary DeNys 152 (ShH); John Fedderson 201 (ShH); Tom Ivey 417 (ShH); John delRe 354t (ShH); Lynda Hambourger 243 (ShH); Kelly Macklin 350 (ShH); Richard Green and Susan Green 363 (ShH).


The class resumed singing with John Alexander and Diane Ober leading 438t (ShH). Leaders: Miranda Elliot Rader 1b (ShH); Clare Chapin 235 (ShH); John Alexander 22b (ShH); John delRe 408b (ShH); Bridget Camden 120 (ShH); Les Updike 124 (ShH); Mary Wright 11 (ShH); Pat Temple 27 (ShH); Chris Wolf 416 (ShH); Derek Lane 264b (ShH); Lynda Hambourger 265 (ShH); John Feddersen 307 (ShH).

Adrienne Robertson thanked all who had a part in putting on the convention, and all those who participated. The James River Convention will meet next year on Saturday before the second Sunday in November (November 10, 2018). Adrienne Robertson led 157b (ShH) as the closing song. A prayer of dismissal was offered by Les Updike, which concluded the convention.

Chairman—Adrienne Robertson; Vice Chairman—Bridget Camden; Secretary—Mary Wright