Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Coweta County Courthouse Singing

Newnan, Georgia

Sunday, October 22, 2017

The 4th annual Coweta County Courthouse Singing was held on the fourth Sunday in October at the Coweta County Courthouse in Newnan, Georgia. Mark Puckett called the class to order leading 59. Phil Meyers offered the morning prayer. Mark Puckett welcomed all of the singers, made several announcements, and led 75.

Leaders: John Plunkett 49b, 111t; Lela Crowder 32t, 33b; Philip Denney 73t, 47t; Andy Ditzler 409, 417; Lisa Bennett 321, 182; Gary Davis and Karen Flagg 565, 354b; Winfred Kerr 388, 389; Karen Clark 174, 354t; Phillip Langley 171, 317.


John Plunkett called the class back together leading 77t. Leaders: Jeannette DePoy 48t (in memory of her cousin, Daniel Evans), 68b; Jack Nelson 300, 47b; Faye Hollis 283, 340; Michael Walker 383, 567; Glenda Collins and Bert Collins 45t, 35; Richard DeLong 74t.

The class paused for a memorial lesson conducted by Karen Rollins. Karen spoke about the memorial lesson being the heart of the singing. Karen expressed that while Sacred Harp singers may be scattered, we are still a close-knit group. We remember one another in prayer and love at the time of the memorial lesson. Karen read the names of the deceased who included Hugh McGraw, Lorraine LaRue, Gail Jackson, Eloise Wootten, Julie Vea, Johnny Lee, Delores Lee, Daniel Evans, Sandra Johnson, Harold DeLong, Thompson Micha, and Gravis Ballinger. She also read the names of the sick and shut-ins who included Chris Holley, Concetta Branson, Kate Evans, Benton Evans, Virginia Dyer, Floy Wilder, and Virginia Futral. She led 348b. Michael Walker closed the lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Debra Langley and Phillip Langley 299, 120.


Mark Puckett brought the class back to order leading 530. Leaders: David Smead 418, 83b; Nathan Rees 385b, 423; David Brodeur 132, 123t; Karen Rollins and Carolyn Walz 336, 327; Lori Goode and Mary Goode 358, 175; Sheri Taylor 39t, 114; Lela Crowder and Kathy Meyers 274t; Lisa Bennett and Joanie Jackson 522; Philip Denney 448t; Karen Clark 234; Glenda Collins and Bert Collins 63; Richard DeLong 39b; Michael Walker 298; Gary Davis and Karen Flagg 480; Nathan Rees 434; Jack Nelson 560; Faye Hollis 276; Phillip Langley 217; Andy Ditzler, Glenda Gamblin, and Nonnie Christopher 197; David Smead 419; Winfred Kerr 500; David Brodeur 457 (for Judy Mincey and her mother); Debra Langley 273; Lori Goode 146; Sheri Taylor 147t; John Plunkett 156; Mark Puckett and Allen Lambert 341; Leighanna Beatenbough and Laley Beatenbough 408.

Announcements were made. Mark Puckett led 46 as the closing song. John Plunkett offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Mark Puckett; Vice Chairman—John Plunkett; Secretary—Lela Crowder