Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

B.M. Smith Memorial Singing

Midway Primitive Baptist Church, Armuchee, Georgia

Saturday, August 19, 2017

The annual Sacred Harp singing held at Midway Primitive Baptist Church on Saturday before the third Sunday in August was called to order by Hayden Arp leading 101t. Elder Jesse Roberts offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Hayden Arp 32t; Isaac Green 545; Don Bowen 475 (in memory of B.M. Smith); Karen Rollins 297; Micah Roberts 34t; Nicholas Thompson 318 (in memory of B.M. Smith); Helen Bryson 546; Andy Ditzler 177; Elizabeth Gentry 270; Jesse Roberts 472; Rebecca Over 383 (for Syd Caldwell); Henry Johnson 147b; Rodney Ivey 222; Reba Windom 176b; Michael Thompson 204; Philip Denney 535; Nancy Novotnyf392; John Plunkett 205; Cecil Roberts 284; Shane Burris 282; Eschol Hughes 316.

A business meeting was held and the following officers and committee members were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Hayden Arp; Vice Chairman—Isaac Green; Secretary—Cindy Tanner; Arranging Committee—Isaac Green and Cindy Tanner. A motion was made and carried to change the name of the singing to the B.M. Smith Memorial Singing. Also, the starting time for the singing will be 10:00 a.m. The meeting was closed.


Hayden Arp led 322 to bring the class back together. Leaders: April Watkins 53; Nate Green and Norma Green 347 (in memory of Betty and Willard Wright); Ed Thacker 498 (in memory of Hugh McGraw and B.M. Smith); Judy Mincey 176t; David Brodeur 413 (in memory of B.M. Smith); Susan Cherones 564 (in memory of Eloise Wootten); Bob Watkins 454 (in memory of Eloise Wootten and B.M. Smith); Kathy Williams 464; Cindy Tanner 217; Tom George 102; Karis Askin 448b; Tonya Edmundson and Tom George 40; Shane Wootten 317; Wanda Capps 298; Taylor Watkins 146; Jeannette DePoy 99; Loyd Ivey 97; Ann Jett 269; Justin Bowen 291; Shelby Castillo 299; Jason Stanford 568.

At this time, members of the Sacred Harp Publishing Company presented a plaque of appreciation to Margie Smith, honoring B.M. Smith for his contributions to the preservation and promotion of Sacred Harp singing. Margie Smith and Rodney Ivey led 225t in memory of B.M. Smith.

Leaders: Isaac Green 340; Micah Roberts 138b; Karis Askin 186; Karen Rollins and Rodney Ivey 365; Eschol Hughes 100; Wanda Capps 187. Elder Jesse Roberts asked a blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Isaac Green leading 123t. Leaders: Henry Johnson 109; David Brodeur 137; Nancy Novotny 428; Nate Green and Norma Green 418; Susan Cherones 349; Andy Ditzler 441; Taylor Watkins 445; John Plunkett 94; Nicholas Thompson 128; Pam Nunn 283 (for Daphene Causey); Jesse Roberts 189.

Karen Rollins conducted the memorial lesson. She talked about the importance of the time set aside to honor those who cannot be present. She read the following list of names of the deceased: B.M. Smith, Hugh McGraw, Mike Taylor, Eloise Wootten, Johnny Lee, Delorese Lee, George Snyder, Toney Smith, Lavoy Smith, and Gravis Ballinger. Karen then read the following list of names of the sick and shut-ins: Concetta Branson, Michael Appert, Evan Maynor, Sarah Wilson, Betty Wilson, Velton Chafin, Johnnie Chafin, Chris Holley, and Agnes Roberts. She led 70t. Elder Jesse Roberts closed the memorial service with prayer.

Leaders: Rebecca Over 381; Justin Bowen 410b; April Watkins and Cindy Tanner 155; Michael Thompson and Shane Wootten 70b; Reba Windom 208; Tonya Edmundson and Tom George 68b; Bob Watkins 480; Philip Denney and Nicholas Thompson 120; Ann Jett, Wanda Capps, and Cindy Tanner 327; Jason Stanford and Joanna Ward 268; Elizabeth Gentry 338; Ed Thacker 532; Cecil Roberts 42; Judy Mincey 149 (in memory of George Snyder); Shane Burris 163b; Don Bowen 39b; Hayden Arp 290 (requested by Margaret Thacker).

Announcements were made. Hayden Arp and Isaac Green led 323t as the closing song. Elder Jesse Roberts dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Hayden Arp; Vice Chairman—Isaac Green; Secretary—Cindy Tanner