Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Michiana Singing

Southwest Bible Church, Goshen, Indiana

Saturday, July 15, 2017

The 30th annual Michiana Singing was called to order by Matthew Lind leading 34b. Michael Miller offered the morning prayer.

The following officers were appointed: Chairman—Matthew Lind; Treasurer—James Nelson Gingerich; Arranging Officer—Henry Schuman; Secretary—Samuel Sommers.

Leaders: James Nelson Gingerich 107; Samuel Sommers 492; Randy Neufeld 171; Catherine Brown 350; Calum Woods 182; Marian Mitchell 112; Brooks Chupp 101t; Shannon Tibbs 313b; Brian How 146; Rochelle Lodder 313t; Bess Fitzgerald 76b; Jim Helke 271t; Ann Miczulski 84; Steve Warner 47b.


James Nelson Gingerich called the class to order leading 29t. Leaders: Susan Geil 31t; Bill Beverly 191; Anne Weaver 178; Michael Miller 474; Claudia Dean 453; David Brodeur 111b; Nancy Britton 475; Nathan Zweig 471; Barb VanderJagt 496; John David Thacker 344; Syble Adams 472; Andy Ditzler 217; Karen Bahler 551; Dean Knuth 566; Lori Graber 180; John Hoerr 102.


The class was called to order by Sam Sommers leading 85. Leaders: Suzanne Flandreau and Karin Thompson 163t; Chris Nicholson 473; Deanna Beth Chupp 105; John Wiens 118; Christine Guth 42; Steve Martin 361; Deanna Robbins 39t; David Stowe 126; Holly Austin and Ananias Austin 207.

John David Thacker and Syble Adams conducted the memorial lesson. Syble led 278t for the sick and shut-ins: Eloise Wootten, Karen Rollins, Michael Appert, Melanie Hauff, Marlen Rust, Chris Holley, John Brazitil, Eric Brenneman, Deb Holland, Mary Ellen Schrock, Dawn Ruth Nelson, Paul Nelson, Johanna Fabke, and Julie Vea.

John David led 30b in memory of the following deceased: Gravis Ballinger, Gary Smith, Toney Smith, Lavoy Smith, and Levon Wootten—Alabama; Carolyn Yost—Arizona; Johnny Lee, Delorese Lee, Loyd Landrum, Hugh McGraw, B.M. Smith, and Edna Vickers—Georgia; Darrell Fasching—Florida; Janelle Davis, Rick Foss, Steven Craig Miller, and Les Sontag—Illinois; Alan Kreider—Indiana; Michael Sharp—Kansas; Collette Miller and Charles Wells—Minnesota; Lila Mitchell—New York; John Bayer and Annabel Clark—Ohio; Roy Brubaker—Pennsylvania; Derek Petch—Washington; Esther Homme—Ontario; Ruth Steggles—United Kingdom.


Matthew Lind called the class to order leading 145b. Leaders: Peter Trumbore 480; Cathryn Bearov 564; Jan May 532; Anne Missavage 383; Warren Steel 444; Anne Heider 192; Henry Schuman 32t; Karen Swenson 538; John Bealle 224; Anne Steel 65; Brad Bahler 168; Martha Beverly 504; Gerry Hoffman 272; Jan Ketelle 216; Will Fitzgerald 495; Eloise Clark 227; Cecelia Kramer and Daniel Ervin 300.


Christine Guth called the class to order leading 35. Leaders: Jo Dell Albi 260; Beth Todd 284; Darrell Swarens 198; Beth Garfinkel 91; Brenda Carroll 384; John Seaton 47t; Ginny Landgraf 214; Gillian Inksetter 349; Jamie Yeats 268; Henry Schuman and Linda Hellerich 318; Jan May and Gillian Inksetter 228; Chris Nicholson 477; Calum Woods 72b; Syble Adams and Brenda Carroll 448t; David Brodeur and Andy Ditzler 114; Nancy Britton 74t.

Announcements were made. Matthew Lind led 62 as the closing song. Michael Miller dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Matthew Lind; Secretary—Samuel Sommers