Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Independence Day Singing

Lakeview Lodge, Camp Lee, Anniston, Alabama

Monday, July 3, 2017

The annual Independence Day Singing, formerly held at Muscadine Church in Cleburne County, was held at Lakeview Lodge, Camp Lee, Anniston, Alabama. The class was called to order by Rene Greene leading 120. Jack Nelson offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Samuel Sommers 176t (in memory of B.M. Smith); Judy Caudle 111b; Angela Myers 42; Pam Nunn 186; Jack Nelson 500 (in memory of Hugh McGraw); Ann Riley 142; Rob Bahler 56b; Laurie Dempsey 155; Guy Bankes 77b; Dan Brittain 61; Nancy Price 107; Dave Farmer 454; Pattie Wareh 171; Adrian Eldridge 313t; Lela Crowder 110; Winfred Kerr 314; Judy Chambless 318 (for Karen Rollins); William Price 217; Jim Neal 389; Robert Chambless 122; Michele Cull and Darrell Swarens 128; Esther Williams 135; Tom Booth 229.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Rene Greene; Vice Chairman—Samuel Sommers; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Committee—Pam Nunn and Angela Myers; Chaplain—Jack Nelson.


Samuel Sommers led 32t to bring the class together. Leaders: Faiz Wareh 396; April Watkins 29t; Isaac Lloyd 29b; Cora Wareh 71; Taylor Watkins 445; Gideon Lloyd 277; AnnaLiza Cull 49b; Jubal Schultz 36b; Katherine Eldridge 461; Samuel Williams 534; Paula Oliver 216; Kathleen Prevost 170; James Eldridge 298; Olivia Prevost and William Prevost 159; Nicholas Thompson 426b; Daniel Bearden 359; Kathy Williams 37b; David Ivey 346; Shelby Castillo 472. Jack Nelson asked a blessing before the noon meal.


Rene Greene and Samuel Sommers led 137 to bring the class to order. Leaders: Bob Watkins 455; Tom George 322; Elizabeth Betz 354b; Alvaro Witt Duarte 343; Jeannette DePoy 201; David Brodeur 109; Tarik Wareh 57; Alex Forsyth 227; Holly Mixon 475; Aldo Ceresa 431; Sasha Hsuczyk 542; Calum Woods 458; Lottie Hinton 32t; Philip Denney 99; Donna Bell 168; Drew Smith 179; Eva Grace Horsley and Karis Askin 408; Matt Hinton 411; Bridgett Hill Kennedy 82t; Anna Hinton 383; Lindsay Kruse and Jashen Edwards 47b; Thom Fahrbach 505; SHMHA Board members (David Ivey, Jeannette DePoy, Judy Caudle, Pam Nunn, and Samuel Sommers) 83t; Shannon Primm and Rajbir Athwal 67; Rene Greene and Pam Nunn 236 (in memory of Jeff and Shelbie Sheppard).

Rene Greene and Samuel Sommers led 63 as the closing song. Jack Nelson dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Rene Greene; Vice Chairman—Samuel Sommers; Secretary—Judy Caudle