Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Rocky Mount Primitive Baptist Church Homecoming and
THE Hillabee Sacred Harp Convention

Daviston, Alabama

Sunday, May 28, 2017

The Rocky Mount Homecoming and the Hillabee Sacred Harp Convention was held at Rocky Mount Primitive Baptist Church on the fourth Sunday in May. The class was called to order by Jack Nelson leading 32t, and then offering the opening prayer.

Leaders: Judy Chambless 531, 318; Carol Buche 178, 488b (CB); Rebecca Over 560, 306; Ben Fink 37b, 129; Laura Densmore 359, 370; Robert Chambless 163b, 72b; Oscar McGuire 229, 441.


The second session began with Charlotte Bishop leading 145b and 143. Leaders: Winfred Kerr 144, 480; Don Clark 225t (CB); Jack Nelson 179, 514 (CB); Brenda Dunlap 52t, 378b; Donna Bell 383, 303; Karen Clark 504 (CB), 336t (CB); Chris Holley 77t, 38t (CB); Wendy Anderson 463 (CB), 36b.


The afternoon session was called to order by Charlotte Bishop leading 587 (CB). Charlotte Bishop conducted the memorial lesson, recognizing friends and family who have passed on since the last singing. Don Clark led 128 (CB) in memory of Johnny Lee, Delorese Lee, J.D. Morris, Edna Ruth Phillips, Christine Keeble, Earlis McGraw, B.M. Smith, and Odean Keel.

Robert Chambless led 122 for the following sick and shut-ins: Karen Rollins, Myra Goss, Hugh McGraw, Sheila Shivers, Mary Cu Shivers, Ledora Morris, Myrline Redmond, Floy Wilder, Tommy Spurlock, Mattie Perry, Frances Treadwell, Jean Payne, and Nellie Estes.

Leaders: Lynda Fagan 445 (for Paula Fagan), 31t; Douglas Hubbard 159, 49b; Charlotte Bishop 335, 229; Sharon Whitehead 112, 186; Jordan McGuire 358, 274t; Karen Clark 522; Donna Bell 500 (in honor of Hugh McGraw); Rebecca Over 410t (Hugh McGraw’s favorite song); Laura Densmore 549 (arranged by Hugh McGraw); Carole Buche 225t.

Following announcements, Charlotte Bishop led 56t as the closing song. Oscar McGuire offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Charlotte Bishop; Secretary—Sharon Whitehead