Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Alewine-Laminack Memorial

St. Michael Lutheran Church, Cleburne County, Alabama

Sunday, April 23, 2017

The annual Alewine-Laminack Memorial Sacred Harp singing was held on the fourth Sunday in April at St. Michael Lutheran Church, north of Muscadine, in Cleburne County, Alabama. Cecil Roberts called the class to order by leading 49t. Jack Nelson offered the opening prayer. Cecil Roberts welcomed everyone, and then led 146.

Leaders: Donna Bell 373, 127 (in memory of Corene Laminack); Judy Chambless 82t (for Karen Rollins), 37b; Winfred Kerr 225t, 89; Dalton Lewis 354b, 70b; Gary Davis and Karen Flagg 59, 35; Glenda Collins and Bert Collins 340, 282; Jack Nelson 294, 125; Ed Thacker 28b, 371; Lisa Bennett 266, 158; Virginia Dyer 137, 361.


Henry Johnson brought the class back to order by leading 138t. A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairmen—David Smead and David Brodeur; Secretary—Donna Bell; Arranging Officer—Judy Chambless. Cecil Roberts brought before the class a proposal of a new singing to be started at Poplar Springs Primitive Baptist Church, just south of Tallapoosa, on the fourth Sunday in September. The class voted unanimously to begin the new singing in September. The business session was closed.

Leaders: Isaac Green and Rebecca Over 284, 548 (for Hugh McGraw); Rene Greene 299, 183 (in memory of Shelbie Sheppard); Robert Chambless 122 (for Hugh McGraw and Karen Rollins, and in memory of Beulah Mae Glascow), 145t; David Smead 165, 240; Rebecca Over 360 (in memory of Henry Kerr and E.F. Alewine), 430; Tom George 416, 417; Léopoldine Guillaume 277, 276; David Brodeur 539, 267; Tony Hammock 556, 112; Richard DeLong 359, 323b; Richard DeLong and Rene Greene 153; Henry Johnson 164, 435 (in memory of Gladys McGraw); Hayden Arp 140, 80b; Oscar McGuire 327, 336. Cecil Roberts thanked the class for their generous donations. The money will be used for the upkeep of the church and cemetery. Lutheran services have not been held at this church for approximately 80 (t? b?) to 85 years. Ed Thacker offered the blessing of the noon meal at the table.


Cecil Roberts brought the class back to order by leading 162. Leaders: Glenda Collins 340 (by request); Andy Ditzler 231, 482; Samuel Williams 487, 350; Fallon Cook 47b, 142; Daniel Williams 116, 36b; Ann Simpson 47t, 445; Esther Williams 481, 86; Sherrell Cleino 335 (in memory of her aunt, Aline Harris), 378t (by request); Jason Stanford 102, 285b; Rene Greene and Richard DeLong 220; Andy Ditzler, David Brodeur, and Léopoldine Guillaume 192; Lisa Bennett, David Smead, and Rebecca Over 562; Hayden Arp, Tom George, and Isaac Green 411; Esther Williams, Samuel Williams, and Daniel Williams 135; Tony Hammock, Oscar McGuire, and Robert Chambless 72b; Henry Johnson, Ed Thacker, and Fallon Cook 69t; Donna Bell, Sherrell Cleino, and Ann Simpson 452 (in memory of B.M. Smith, B.J. Harris, Corene Laminack, and in honor of Margaret Thacker); Winfred Kerr, Cecil Roberts, and Jason Stanford 460; Glenda Collins, Bert Collins, and Judy Chambless 300; Rebecca Over 39t; Léopoldine Guillaume 49b; Fallon Cook, Hayden Arp, and Isaac Green 186, 196.

Announcements were made. Cecil Roberts, David Smead, David Brodeur, Donna Bell, and Judy Chambless led 138t as the closing song. Judy Chambless offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairmen—David Smead and David Brodeur; Secretary—Donna Bell