Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Edwardsville Baptist Church

Edwardsville, Cleburne County, Alabama

Sunday, April 2, 2017

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Edwardsville Baptist Church, Edwardsville, Cleburne County, Alabama, was held on the first Sunday in April. Cecil Roberts called the class to order by leading 28t. He then welcomed everyone, and Henry Johnson offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Cecil Roberts 278t; Henry Johnson 52t, 53b; Donna Bell 99, 499 (in memory of her daddy, George Garner); Judy Chambless 389 (for Karen Rollins), 292; Winfred Kerr 516 (in honor of Hugh McGraw), 36b (for Rebecca Over); Sherrell Clieno 127, 335; Isaac Green 242, 548 (for Hugh McGraw); Virginia Dyer 340, 454; Jack Nelson 399b (for Eugene Forbes), 480; Robert Chambless 354b (for Hugh McGraw), 72b (in memory of B.M. Smith).


Henry Johnson brought the class back to order by leading 375. A business session was held and the following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—Henry Johnson; Secretary—Donna Bell; Arranging Officer—Judy Chambless.

Leaders: Tony Hammock 30b, 267; Rene Greene 84, 34b; Ed Thacker 269 (for Karen Rollins), 225t (in memory of Earlis McGraw and Buford McGraw); David Brodeur 570 (for Hugh McGraw), 566; Dalton Lewis 472, 77b; Richard DeLong 35, 39b; Chance Cook 192; Oscar McGuire 163b; Gary Davis and Karen Flagg 59, 45t; Andy Ditzler 232, 44; Hayden Arp 149, 517 (for Hugh McGraw).

The memorial lesson was conducted by Judy Chambless. She spoke on the subject of thankfulness. Judy thanked Edwardsville Baptist Church and our friends in Cleburne County for welcoming the Sacred Harp singers with open arms and allowing us to sing here. Judy stated that she was also thankful that she woke up this morning and wasn’t on either of these lists. The sick and shut-ins honored were Karen Rollins, Hugh McGraw, Eugene Forbes, Eloise Wootten, Susan Harcrow, Robby Rivers, Helen Bryson, Lois Bowman, and Rebecca Over. The deceased remembered were Earlis McGraw, Patti McGraw, B.M. Smith, Geneva Prichard, Lynn Swafford Key, Gail Jackson, Hester Edwards, James Hughes, James Harold DeLong, and Edna Ruth Phillips. Judy then led 318. Jack Nelson closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Glenda Collins and Bert Collins 100, 101t; Fallon Cook 47b, 295 (for Julie Owens); Cecil Roberts 229, 282 (by request); Henry Johnson 138t. Reverend Jeff Layton, pastor of the church, offered the blessing of the noon meal.


Cecil Roberts brought the class back to order by leading 512. Leaders: Tony Hammock 204; Rene Greene 294; Donna Bell 358 (by request); Andy Ditzler 188 (in honor of this beautiful day); Richard DeLong 36t; Isaac Green and Fallon Cook 215; Sherrell Clieno 452; Robert Chambless 75; Ed Thacker 48t; Oscar McGuire 344; Glenda Collins and Bert Collins 383; Fallon Cook, Jesse McGuffey, and Lawana McGuffey 186; Winfred Kerr 89; David Brodeur 572; Jack Nelson 408; Judy Chambless 222; Andy Ditzler 236; Virginia Dyer and Rene Greene 63 (in memory of Lessie Albright Cates); Fallon Cook and Winfred Kerr 146.

Announcements were made. Cecil Roberts, Henry Johnson, and Donna Bell led 46 as the closing song. Cecil Roberts offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—Henry Johnson; Secretary—Donna Bell