Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Rogers Memorial Singing

Ephesus School, Roopville, Georgia

Sunday, March 5, 2017

The annual Rogers Memorial Singing was held on the first Sunday in March. The class was called to order by Denney Rogers leading 101t. The morning prayer was offered by Henry Johnson. Denney Rogers welcomed everyone to Ephesus.

A business meeting was held with the following officers elected: Chairman—Denney Rogers; Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Arranging Officer/Secretary—Judy Chambless.

Leaders: Rodney Ivey 318; Judy Chambless 570; Nicholas Thompson 217; Isaac Green 222 (in honor of Lauren Bock and her new baby); Eli Hinton 77t; Sherrell Clieno 335; Cecil Roberts 312b (in honor of Jeannette Laminack and Lois Bowman); Philip Denney 100 (in memory of his mother); Karen Rollins 171; Earl Ballinger 286; Louis Hughes 448b; Reba Windom 299; Larry Ballinger 300; Mark Godfrey 204; Margie Smith 108t; Stanley Smith 53; Cindy Tanner 187; Henry Johnson 435 (in memory of Earlis McGraw); Ainslie Allen 196.


Rodney Ivey brought the class back to order leading 81t. Leaders: Nathan Rees 202; Malinda Snow 468.

Karen Rollins conducted the memorial lesson. She spoke, remembering friends, who are sick and loved ones, who have left for a better home. The following list of names of the sick and shut-ins was read: Floy Wilder, Wayne Reed, Jerry Rollins, Michael Webb, Doug Webb, William Futral, Virginia Futral, James Hughes, Rachel Rogers, Virginia Dyer, Gravis Ballinger, Mike Taylor, and Eloise Wootten.

Karen invited her siblings to join her in the square, and read the following list of names of the deceased: Elsie Moon, B.M. Smith, Earlis McGraw, Hester Edwards, Edna Ruth Phillips, Toney Smith, Lavoy Smith, Lynn Swafford Key, Gail Jackson, Johnny Lee, Delorese Lee, S.T. Reed, Janelle Davis, Geneva Pritchard, Steve Adams, Kermit Adams, Margie Denney, Doris Rogers, W.C. Yarbrough, Casey Hester, Harold DeLong, and Bob Vance. They led 119. Philip Denney closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Hayden Arp 109; Ann Jett 319; Robert Chambless 225t; Yancey Jett 440; Dennis George 107; Marty Wootten 276; Nate Green and Norma Green 279; Leigh Cooper 349.


Samuel Williams brought the class back to order leading 129. Leaders: Danny Creel 456; Lisa Bennett 346; Susan Cherones 564; Judy Caudle 389; Buell Cobb 409; Daniel Williams 290; Wanda Capps 546; Jeannette DePoy 328; Pam Nunn 216; Matt Hinton 70t; David Smead 488; Jamey Wootten 441; Drew McGuire 399b; Cassie Allen 120; the grandchildren of Lonnie and Vivian Rogers 345t.


Denney Rogers brought the class back to order leading 87. Leaders: Judy Mincey 155; Richard Mauldin 446; Jared Wootten 371; Esther Williams 70b; Sherry Lovvorn 454; Paige Harrod 460; Oscar McGuire and Cassie Allen 485; Gene Duke and Donna Duke 282; Linda Thomas and Jared Wootten 472; Samuel Williams 125; Sheri Taylor and Christian Webb 46; Larry Ballinger and Earl Ballinger 283; Nicholas Thompson, Jared Wootten and Jamey Wootten 475; Danny Creel, Wanda Capps, Ann Jett, and Cindy Tanner 512; Dennis George, Cassie Allen, and Yancey Jett 373; Henry Johnson, Judy Caudle, and Stanley Smith 348b; Rodney Ivey and Loyd Ivey 89; Daniel Williams, Esther Williams, and Samuel Williams 123b; Reba Windom, Pam Nunn, and Drew McGuire 442; Susan Cherones, Lisa Bennett, and David Smead 270; Philip Denney, Richard Mauldin, and Sheri Taylor 168; Hayden Arp, Charlene Wallace, and Isaac Green 112; Matt Hinton, Lottie Hinton, Mark Godfrey, and Leigh Cooper 203; Cecil Roberts, Oscar McGuire, and Robert Chambless 209; Malinda Snow, Jeannette DePoy, and Linda Thomas 474; Nate Green, Norma Green, and Sherrell Clieno 332; Judy Mincey and Buell Cobb 433; Gene Duke and Donna Duke 392.

After announcements, Denney Rogers, Rodney Ivey, and Karen Rollins led 62 as the closing song. Cecil Roberts offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Denney Rogers; Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Secretary—Judy Chambless